Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: EndNote.com

Introduction

 

There are two different versions of EndNote -- the web version and the desktop version.  EndNote.com is freely available on the web to anyone. UCSB-affiliated users have access to an enhanced version of EndNote.com through our library subscription.The directions on the other tabs of this guide are for the desktop version of EndNote. The web version does not have the full range of features that the desktop version has.

Setting Up Your EndNote Web Account

  • Go to the User Registration Pagehttps://www.myendnoteweb.com/EndNoteWeb.html
  • Click the "create an account" link and follow the instructions.
  • Be sure to read the password guidelines carefully!
  • If you already have an account for Web of Science or ResearcherID, that login and password will also work for EndNote.com - you don't need to re-register.

Using EndNote.com

EndNote Desktop

The desktop version offers more capabilities than the web version. If you wish to use the desktop version, you will need to purchase a copy for your personal computer.

Connection Files

Connection Files allow you to use EndNote as the search interface with Library databases.

  • Go to EndNote Connection Files
  • Check for a connection file for the particular database (e.g. Science Citation Index or MLA Bibliography) and vendor (e.g. ISI or CSA) that you want to use. If you are unsure which vendor we use for a database, Ask a Librarian.
  • Download the connection file via the FTP link provided and install it according to the instructions provided with your EndNote software.
  • NOTE: If you are off-campus, you will need to use the VPN to connect to and search the databases. The proxy server will not work when using the EndNote search interface.

Import Filters

Use Import Filters if want to search using the database's own Web interface, download the results into a file, and then import them into EndNote.

  • Go to EndNote Import Filters
  • Find the appropriate import filter for your database and vendor (note that there is a much wider variety of import filters than of connection files.
  • Download it via the FTP link provided and install it according to the instructions provided with your EndNote software.
  • If a filter is unavailable, consult the EndNote manual and help file for tips on how to download and import records without a filter.
  • NOTE: If you are off-campus, you will need to use either the proxy server or the VPN to connect to and search the databases.

 Other Useful Links

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies