Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Bibliographies

Generating Bibliographies from an existing EndNote Library

When to Use: Follow these steps when you want to create a bibliography that is not associated with a paper. The bibliography created with the following steps will be created independently of any paper.  It will be based on references you select from your EndNote Library. 

Note: There are two main ways to create bibliographies that will be explained below.  Read through each method and decide which one is appropriate for your needs.  Please see the EndNote Manual for even more ways to create bibliographies.

Drag and Drop Method: (selected parts copied from EndNote Manual)
1. Open Endnote and the library you want to export references from.
2. Under Edit menu, select Output Styles, and select the style you want your bibliography to be in.  If you do not see your preferred method, select Open Style Manager and check the boxes next to the styles you want to see.  After you have done this, choose the style you want to do.
3. Open your word processor.
4. Hold down the CTRL key as you drag the references from the library and drop them directly onto a word processing document in the background.
5.  If your word processor does not support drag-and-drop, go to the EndNote Manual, Chapter 13, section “Copy Formatted” for help.
6. Name and save the file as normal for your word processor.

Exporting References Method
: (copied from EndNote Manual)
1. Open the library from which you will export, and show the references you want to export.

  • To export all of the references in the library, click the All References group or choose Show All References from the References menu.
  • To export a subset of references, display a group or use the Search Library, Hide Selected References, or Show Selected References commands to show the subset of references you want to include. You can further limit the list of references to export by highlighting just those references in the current list.

2. (Optional) References are exported in the order specified by the selected output style. If you want to change the sort order, you must modify the output style:

  • From the Edit menu, choose Output Styles and then Open Style Manager.
  • Select the output style and click Edit.
  • In the left pane of the window, under Bibliography, select Sort Order.
  • Change the current sort order in the right pane. If you want to export references in the order in which they are listed in the current Library window, choose Order of appearance.
  • Close the output style and the style manager.

2. From EndNote’s File menu, choose Export.
3. From the Save as Type list at the bottom of the dialog, select the type of file to be exported: Text File, Rich Text Format, HTML, or XML.

  • Text File: The Text File export option is suitable for draft purposes or exporting references to be imported into another database.
  • Rich Text Format (RTF) The RTF export is an ideal way to create a free-standing bibliography that can be edited or printed using a word processor. This format can be opened by all popular word processors and preserves font and text style information.
  • HTML Documents exported in HTML (Hyper Text Markup Language) provide an easy way to post reference lists on the World Wide Web. In your Web browser, set encoding to “Unicode-UTF 8” to appropriately display extended Unicode characters in the exported document.
  • XML The XML option exports in a proprietary EndNote XML format.

4. From the Output style list at the bottom of the dialog, choose a style (or choose Select another style to choose from all available output styles).
5. Select the Export Selected References option if desired. If you want to export all of the references in the current list, clear the check box.
6. Name your file.
7. Use the Save in option to select the folder on your computer where it should be saved.
8. Click Save. (It is best to keep the assigned file extensions as part of the exported file name.)
9. Open the exported file in a word processor to edit or print it.

  • At this point, the file is just like any other text document.
  • You can change the font, margins, line spacing, or other page layout features if necessary.
  • If you use the Open command in your word processor, make sure that the open file dialog is set to show files with the correct extension.
  • If you exported the references in HTML format, your exported reference list is ready to be posted directly to your website.
    • In your Web browser, set encoding to “Unicode- UTF 8” to appropriately display extended Unicode characters.


Note: For more information on other ways to create bibliographies, preview them, print them directly from Endnote, or how to create other bibliographic styles (afor example: annotated) see the EndNote Manual, Chapter 13.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies