Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Using Cite While You Write with MS Word

Using Cite While You Write with MS Word

To Cite While You Write:

Notes: EndNote web builds your bibliography as you write your paper. EndNote web will format the references to match the output style you have selected.

Steps:
1. In the EndNote Program, click Format Bibliography button.

  • Choose the citation style you want to use.
  • You can always change this later, but it’s easier to manipulate if you do it first.
  • Make sure you have selected the output style you want. 

2. Type your document in MS Word.
3. If you are using in-text parenthetical citations:

  • Click Find Citation(s) on toolbar, or under Tools menu, select Endnote X2, and then select Find Citation(s).
  • Either search for the reference using the Find box, or simply highlight the reference you want to insert.
  • Click Insert.
  • You will now see the reference in your MS Word document and at the end of the paper will be the full citation for your Words Cited Page.
  • No need to worry about alphabetization of Word Cited Page—Endnote will do this automatically.

4. If you are using footnotes or endnotes:

  • Note: You must be using a style that supports footnotes, like Chicago 15th A, Turabian, etc.
  • In Microsoft Word, insert your footnote or endnote according to your version of the program.
    • In certain versions of Word a pop-up window will appear with footnote/endnote formatting choices. When you have finished setting your preferences, Click Insert.
    • In other versions you may have different steps to format your footnotes/endnotes.
  • With the cursor in the footnote space, click Find Citation(s) on the EndNote toolbar, or under the Tools menu on the EndNote toolbar, select Endnote X2, and then select Find Citation(s).
  • Either search for the reference using the Find box, or simply highlight the reference you want to insert.
  • Click Insert.
  • You will now see the reference in your MS Word document and at the end of the paper will be the full citation for your Works Cited Page.
    • You will need to add the page number to your footnote, if you are citing a specific page.
    • No need to worry about alphabetization of Word Cited Page—Endnote will do this automatically.

Changing your citation style
When to use: If you want to change the citation style:
1. Click on the Format bibliography button in the EndNote toolbar.
2. Under the Format Bibliography tab, select the style you want to change your formatting from the options listed in the drop-down Output Style menu.

  • If you do not see the style you want, click the Browse button.

3. When you have selected your new style, click OK.

Editing and Formatting your paper
(copied from EndNote “Getting Started Guide.”):
When to use: If you need to make changes to your paper such as adding or deleting citations or text, just do the necessary updates in your paper. 

If you want to change the output style or bibliography layout settings, choose the Format Bibliography button again.  EndNote will reformat the in-text citations and generate a new bibliography based on your changes.

Editing Your Citations
(copied from EndNote “Getting Started Guide.):

Note: If you directly edit a citation or the bibliography, the changes will be lost when you Format Bibliography again because EndNote reformats according to the rules of the selected output style. 

To make and retain changes to all citations and/or the bibliography, modify the output style (See EndNote manual for instructions) or edit the reference entry in your EndNote library. However, if you want to make a change to an individual citation, use the Edit Citation button as described below.


To edit an individual citation:
1. Click on the in-text citation or the footnote/endnote
2. From the Tools menu, go to EndNote X2 submenu under the Tools menu OR click on the Edit Citation(s) button of your EndNote toolbar.
3. Make the changes you want to see for the particular citation.

  • Here you can cite specific pages using the Pages field.
  • You can also insert another citation a footnote/endnote.
  • Click Insert
  • Select the citation you want to insert. 
  • Click Insert.

4. When you finished making the changes to the citation, click OK.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies