Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: CSA Illumina Platform

Importing from CSA Illumina Platform

Note: Use these instructions for the following databases with the CSA ILLUMINA platform:

ARTbibliographies Modern ASFA Aquatic Science 7 Fisheries Abstract
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Bibliography of the History of Art
Biological Sciences Biology Digest
BioOne Abstracts & Indexes Ceramic Abstracts
World Ceramics Abstracts Communication Abstracts
Communication Studies Conference Papers Index
Ciminology Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Education EIS
ERIC Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
GeoRed GeoRef in Process
Health Sciences IBSS: Internat'l Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Index Islamicus CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Management and Organization Studies     Materials Science
MEDLINE Meterological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
MLA Directory of Periodicals Oceanic Abstracts
PAIS Archive PAI International
Philosopher's Index PILOTS Database
Plant Science Political Science
PsycARTICLES Psychology
PsycINFO CSA Social Services Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts Sociology
TOXLINE Urban Studies & Planning
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

 

Steps:

1. Search database
2. Check the boxes next the records you want to export.
3. Click Save, Print, E-mail
4. Change Document Format to TEXT (not HTML)
5. Click Save – give it a custom name so subsequent CSA searches don’t overwrite the file
6. Follow the directions about Importing a Saved Text File.

  • For Import Option, select Other Filters, and then name of the database with CSA after it: e.g., ERIC (CSA); GeoRef (CSA); PsycInfo (CSA)
  • There is no “Worldwide Political Science Abstracts” filter, but Sociological Abstracts (CSA) works.
  • Double check your imported references.  Make changes as necessary. 
  • CSA information will not appear correctly in EndNote. You will have to change reference type to: Journal Article and copy & paste journal title, volume, pages from the Notes field to the proper fields. The Notes field might not be complete, if so you might need to go back to the database to complete the information in EndNote Web.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies