Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle East Studies: Digital Libraries & Repositiories

Guide to Middle East Studies: ancient, medieval & modern.

What are digital repositories?

Digital repositories may contain full-length books, articles, documents, working papers, preprints, or any combination thereof. The material may have been deposited directly in the repository in an electronic form ("born digital") or it may have been scanned from a printed source. Some repositories have search capabilities; others are merely a collection of materials, often on related or similar topics.

Digital Repositories

Dar Al-Mandumah

Almandumah is a comprehensive online full-text database for Arabic scholarly output. It is a full-text database of close to 1.2 million Arabic items, including 65,000 items mainly in English and other languages. Dissertations and theses include full-text and abstracts for about 150,000 titles from 170 schools across the Arab world. The database covers the Arabic scholarly output from 1922 until the present—newly added materials to the database average between 70,000 and 90,000 items a year.

NoorMags

Noormags is the largest full-text database for Persian journals. It contains over 1,300 journals in 54,300 issues published from the 1900s to the present, as well as over one million articles on various subjects.

Digital Assets Repository (DAR) of the Bibliotheca Alexandrina

The Digital Assets Repository (DAR) is a system developed at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, the Library of Alexandria, to create and maintain the Library's digital collections. Explore our large collection of Arabic digital books, photo albums, and more.

Coptic Scriptorium

A platform for interdisciplinary and computational research in texts in the Coptic language, particularly the Sahidic dialect.  As an open-source, open-access initiative, our technologies and corpus facilitate a collaborative environment for digital research for all scholars working in Coptic.

Israel Scholar

Digital archive for creative work by the faculty and staff of Israeli academic institutions.

MENAdoc

From the University of Halle

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.

Digital Mapping

Diarna

        Mapping Mizrahi heritage

         initiative of Digital Heritage Mapping

Digital Libraries & Collections

NoorLibrary

NoorLib is a digital library containing over 8,000 titles (about 15,000 volumes), mostly in Persian and Arabic, in the fields of Islamic studies, political science, social science, literature, culture, geography, and history.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO)

from New York University, Abu Dhabi; aims to have 15,000 works

Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library of the American University in Cairo

"The Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library (RBSCDL), established in Fall 2011, provides a platform for Rare Books and Special Collections Library and Archives collection managers to publish born-digital and digital surrogates of cultural heritage materials. Resources from the University Archives, Rare and Special Books, Archives and Manuscripts Collections, Oral History Interviews, Regional Architecture Collections, and Photography Collections may be included in the Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library."

Afghanistan Digital Library

from New York University; digitized works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930

Oman Library Digital Collection

an online collection is a web-based digital collection of the library’s rare books and manuscripts, consisting entirely of subjects related to Middle Eastern Studies. The topics of the rare collection range from history and culture to works of fiction from the early twentieth century. The collection includes materials in seven different languages -- English, Arabic, French, Farsi, Urdu, Ottoman Turkish, and Turkish -- and publications spanning the period from 1700 to 1921.

Qatar Digital Library (QDL)

The QDL has been developed as part of a 10-year Memorandum of Understanding on Partnerships between the Qatar Foundation, the Qatar National Library, and The British Library.

The Mahmoud Salih Collection 

Publications on Sudan at the Unversity of Bergen (Norway)

MENAdoc

provides Open Access digital documents with regard to the MENA region and to Islamic studies.


KÜTÜPHANE VE DOKÜMANTASYON MÜDÜRLÜĞÜ

Ottoman books from Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi, Kütüphane ve Arşiv Hizmetleri Başkanlığı

World Digital Library - the Middle East and North Africa 


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies