Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle East Studies: Encyclopedias

Guide to Middle East Studies: ancient, medieval & modern.

Print Sources

The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology

  • Edited by Tim Winter.
  • BP166.1,C36 2008

The Coptic Encyclopedia

  • REF BX130.5.C66 1991

Crosshatching in Global Culture: a Dictionary of Modern Arab Writers.

  • REF PJ7521.C76 2004.
  • Includes bibliographies

Encyclopaedia Iranica

  • REF DS253.E53 1982An "in progress" work.
  • Library receives volumes as published.11 vols to date ("Harem I" is the last entry) and a free online version

Encyclopedia Judaica 2nd ed.

  • REF DS102.8.E496 2007

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics.

  • REF PJ6031.E53 2006
  • "Covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (Pre-classical..., classical ..., mdoern standard ..., Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).Recently Added; Check to Make sure no duplicates

Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature edited by Julie Scott Meisami & Paul Starkey.

  • REF PJ7510.E53 1998.
  • Classical to modern; includes bibliographies

Encyclopedia of Canonical Hadith

  • G.H.A. Juynboll.
  • REF BP135.2.J89 2007
  • "English translations of all canonical hadiths, complete with their .. chains of transmission (isnads)."

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

  • REF GT2850.E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.

  • REF BP40.E525 2004

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilisation and Religion

  • Edited by Ian Richard Netton REF BP40.E526 2008

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East.

  • REF DS43.E53

The Islamic World: Past and Present.

  • REF DS35.53.I86 2004

Jami' al-Fiqh al-Islami = Encyclopedia of Islamic Jurisprudence.

  • CDrom + guide. "Text of 500 volumes on Islamic law"
  • MEDIA KBP40.J35 2002

The Literature of Islam

  • A Guide to the Primary Sources in English Translation by Paula Y. Skreslet & Rebecca Skreslet.
  • REF Z7835.M6S585 2006

Lughat'namah-i Dihkhuda.

  • Riviyat-i 2. 1 CD.
  • Media Collection AE36.D4 2002

Mawsu'at al-Hadith al-sharif = Hadith Encyclopedia

  • Bukhari, Muslim, Tirmidhi, Abu Da'ud, al-Nasa'i, Ibn Majah, Darimi, Ibn Hanbal, & al-Muwatta al-Imam Malik
  •  1 CD. MEDIA BP135.2.M8 1998

The Middle East and Central Asia: an Anthropological Approach

  • By Dale F. Eickelman. 4th ed.
  • GN635.N42 E39 2002

The New Islamic Dynasties: a Chronological and Genealogical Manual

  • By C.E. Bosworth.
  • REF DS35.627.B67 1996

The Qur'an and Its Interpreters

  • By Mahmoud M. Ayoub.
  • 2 vols. to date (v. 1: Surat al-Fatihah & Surat al-Baqarah. v. 2: Surat Al 'Imran)
  • BP130.4.A385 1984

The Shengold Jewish Encyclopedia

  • REF DS102.8.S545 2003

Thesaurus d'épigraphie Islamique: Inscriptions de l'Asie Centrale, de la Péninsule d'Arabie et du Maghreb. 3e livraison.

  • 2 CD-ROMs
  • MEDIA CN1153.T48 2001

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

  • REF GN333.W67 1998

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies