Print Sources
Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy by Call Number: Main Library Reference B741 .B56 2006ISBN: 1843711486Publication Date: 2006-08-15
Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion by
The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion provides scholarly coverage of the religion, culture and history of the Islamic world, at a time when that world is undergoing considerable change and is a focus of international study and debate. The non-Muslim world's perceptions of Islam have often tended to be dominated by unrepresentative radical extremist movements and media interpretations of events involving such movements, to the extent that many people are unaware of the depth and variety of Islamic thought. At the same time, many who have had a formal training in Islamic studies have tended to concentrate on the traditional, to the exclusion of the contemporary. The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion covers the full range of Islamic thought, in historical depth, but it also provides substantial coverage of contemporary trends across the Muslim world. With well over a thousand entries on Islamic theology, history, arts, science, law and institutions, and coverage of Islam in individual countries and cities around the world, the Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion provides an extremely rich resource for students and researchers in religious studies and Middle Eastern studies. Entries are cross-referenced and bibliographies are provided. There is a full index. Routledge published The Qura'n: An Encyclopedia in 2005, an excellent companion to the Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion.
Call Number: Main Library Reference BP40 .E526 2008ISBN: 9780700715886Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Concise Biographical Companion to Index Islamicus by
This first of the ultimately three-volume Who's Who in Islamic Studies presents the scholarly world at long last with its own biographical encyclopaedia. Taking as a starting point the inventory of authors from the renowned Index Islamicus, the author, Wolfgang Behn (Berlin), has systematically collected numerous data on the lives and works of the tens of thousands of authors listed in the Index Islamicus from 1665 to 1980. This Biographical Companion will be an indispensable reference tool for the serious student and scholar of Islamic Studies. It enables the user to quickly gain knowledge on the life, work, and professional background of almost every major and minor author, and thus to place each author in his/her proper perspective. A tremendous achievement and a true must for every library.
Call Number: Main Library Reference BP70 .B425 2004ISBN: 9004141170Publication Date: 2004-06-29
The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an by Call Number: Main Library BP130.4 .C36 2006ISBN: 0521831601Publication Date: 2006-11-23
A Concordance of the Qur'an by
From the Foreword This Concordance of the Qur'an in English satisfies a paramount need of those--and there are millions of them--who have no command of the Arabic language and yet desire to understand the Qur'an. The benefit derivable from English translations of the Sacred Book is, in principle, limited because, first, the Qur'an is not a "book" but a collection of passages revealed to Muhammad over a period of about twenty-three years and, second, because the Qur'an is not really translatable. This does not mean that the Qur'an should not be translated. It does mean that translations lose much in tone and nuance, let alone the incommunicable beauty, grandeur, and grace of the original. . . . The main distinction of Hana Kassis's concordance, in my view, is that it utilizes the semantic structure of Arabic vocabulary itself in revealing the meaning of the Qur'an on any given issue, point or concept. A reader who looks in the index of this concordance for a word which he has encountered in reading an English translation of the Qur'an--the word pride, for example--is directed immediately to the roots of the Arabic, Qur'anic terms for pride. At tne entries for these Arabic roots, all the derivative forms are shown, and the verses of the Qur'an in which they appear are there listed in translation. . . . I am confident that any person who is sincerely interested in understanding the Qur'an and appreciating the nuances of its diction and shades of its meaning can satisfy his need more fully with this book than in any way short of developing a real command over the Arabic language itself. --Fazlur Rahman, Professor of Islamic Thought, University of Chicago
Call Number: Main Library Reference BP133 .K37 1983ISBN: 0520043278Publication Date: 1983-12-28
The Literature of Islam by
This book introduces the literature of Islam as it is presented in English translation. For scholars in other fields who need to understand the vast and complex literary heritage of this erudite and vigorous faith community (but are unable to devote years of their lives to achieving a reading proficiency in classical Arabic), for faculty members called upon to teach introductory or survey courses outside their own disciplines, and for graduate students in theology, medieval studies, world religions, or related fields who need access to these primary sources in English translation, The Literature of Islam is a welcome resource. Even lay readers who are interested in understanding the modern Arab or Islamic world may grasp something of the currents of thought and belief through the centuries that produced these important works, which continue to exert a powerful influence upon Muslims today. The primary literatures of Islam are normally classified into several areas of study: the canonical literature, the interpretation of scripture and tradition, law, theology, philosophy, history, and mysticism. Entries here are organized into these areas of study and represent the most significant texts from important trends in the discipline. The volume also includes an extensive bibliography that lists the editions of primary sources analyzed in each chapter. There are also some suggestions for secondary reading, which might be helpful to a student seeking additional information about each genre of literature.
Call Number: Main Library Reference BP161.2 S585 2006ISBN: 0810854082Publication Date: 2006-09-20
The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology by
This series of critical reflections on the evolution and major themes of pre-modern Muslim theology begins with the revelation of the Koran, and extends to the beginnings of modernity in the eighteenth century. The significance of Islamic theology reflects the immense importance of Islam in the history of monotheism, to which it has brought a unique approach and style, and a range of solutions which are of abiding interest. Devoting especial attention to questions of rationality, scriptural fidelity, and the construction of 'orthodoxy', this volume introduces key Muslim theories of revelation, creation, ethics, scriptural interpretation, law, mysticism, and eschatology. Throughout the treatment is firmly set in the historical, social and political context in which Islam's distinctive understanding of God evolved. Despite its importance, Islamic theology has been neglected in recent scholarship, and this book provides a unique, scholarly but accessible introduction.
Call Number: Main Library BP166.1 .C36 2008ISBN: 9780521780582Publication Date: 2008-05-22
The Coptic Encyclopedia by
Beginning with the first-century teachings of Mark the Evangelist, the founder and first patriarch, the Coptic church was arguably the primary shaper of Christianity until the fifth century. Today, the Copts claim a following of over 30 million, and maintain a strong religious influence in Africa and the Middle East.
Call Number: Main Library Reference BX130.5 .C66 1991ISBN: 002897025XPublication Date: 1991-03-01
The Islamic and Christian Calendars by
A Complete Guide for Converting Christian and Islamic Dates and Dates of Festivals
Call Number: Main Library Reference CE59 .F7 1996ISBN: 1859640664Publication Date: 1995-01-01
The New Cambridge History of Islam by
The New Cambridge History of Islam is a comprehensive history of Islamic civilization, tracing its development from its beginnings in seventh-century Arabia to its wide and varied presence in the globalised world of today. The six volumes reflect the geographical distribution and the cultural, social and religious diversity of the peoples of the Muslim world. Four volumes cover historical developments and two are devoted to themes that cut across geographical and chronological divisions, ranging from social, political and economic relations to the arts, literature and learning. Each volume's introduction sets the scene for the ensuing chapters and examines relationships with adjacent civilizations. Written by a team combining established authorities and rising scholars in the field, this will be the standard reference for students, scholars and all those with enquiring minds for years to come.
Call Number: Main Library Main Library DS35.6 .C3 2010ISBN: 9780521515368Publication Date: 2010-11-04
The New Islamic Dynasties by
With a complete selection of bibliographies and tables of dates, titles, and names, this completely revised classic manual builds upon a work that has been a cornerstone of Islamic studies for thirty years. It remains the best source of clear, accurate information on centuries of Muslim dynastic history and the royal families in the Muslim world.
Call Number: Main Library Reference DS35.627 .B67 1996ISBN: 0231107145Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East by
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East presents a clear, precise, and unbiased explanation of the people, places and events that have shaped the Middle East since 1800. From The Charge of the Light Brigade during the Crimean War and the Battle of Tobruk during World War II to the Arab-Israeli Conflict and the Yemen Civil War, the articles contained within the Encyclopedia will reveal the stories behind the headlines of today. Discover the educational background, beliefs, accomplishments, and families of individuals of historic prominence and local significance from Erwin Rommel to Golda Meir. Differences in interpretation and practice among the sects of the region's dominant religions and societies are made understandable while national and cultural identities are concisely and accurately depicted. Maps and detailed articles describe the Middle East and North Africa, from large urban centres to small rural communities, from oil producing nations to agricultural states, from industrial complexes to nomadic clans.
Call Number: Main Library Reference DS43 .E53 1996ISBN: 0028960114
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Edition is important to scholars, general readers and students. With more than 22,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, this second edition incorporates more than three decades of changes and the latest scholarship-such as new archaeological sites, theories and analytical methodologies. Featuring original work by top scholars representing all major universities and centres of research in Jewish studies, this invaluable set expands the scope and relevance of the original with some 2,200 brand-new entries.
Call Number: Main Library Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2006-12-12- Encyclopedia Iranica by Call Number: Main Library Reference DS253 .E53 1982ISBN: 0710090927Publication Date: 1982-07-01
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by
An indispensable guide to Islamic political thought from Muhammad to the twenty-first century The first encyclopedia of Islamic political thought from the birth of Islam to today, this comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible reference provides the context needed for understanding contemporary politics in the Islamic world and beyond. With more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries written by an international team of specialists, the volume focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, covering central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history. Fifteen major entries provide a synthetic treatment of key topics, such as Muhammad, jihad, authority, gender, culture, minorities, fundamentalism, and pluralism. Incorporating the latest scholarship, this is an indispensable resource for students, researchers, journalists, and anyone else seeking an informed perspective on the complex intersection of Islam and politics. Includes more than 400 concise, alphabetically arranged entries Features 15 in-depth entries on key topics Covers topics such as: Central themes and sources of Islamic political thought: caliph, modernity, knowledge, shari'a, government, revival and reform Modern concepts, institutions, movements, and parties: civil society, Islamization, secularism, veil, Muslim Brotherhood Islamic law and traditional Islamic societies: justice, taxation, fatwa, dissent, governance, piety and asceticism, trade and commerce Sects, schools, regions, and dynasties: Mu'tazilis, Shi'ism, Quraysh, Mecca and Medina, Baghdad, Indonesia, Nigeria, Central Asia, Ottomans Thinkers, personalities, and statesmen: Mawardi, Shafi'I, Saladin, Tamerlane, Akbar, Atatürk, Nasser, Khomeini Contains seven historical and contemporary maps of Muslim empires, postcolonial nation-states, populations, and settlements Guides readers to further research through bibliographies, cross-references, and an index
Call Number: Main Library Reference JC49 .P75 2013ISBN: 9780691134840Publication Date: 2012-11-11
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature by
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.
Call Number: Main Library Reference PJ7510 .E53 1998ISBN: 0415068088Publication Date: 1998-05-29
Crosshatching in Global Culture by
Die Reihe Beiruter Texte und Studien (BTS) ist die Buchreihe des Orient-Instituts fur Grundlagenforschung des historischen und zeitgenossischen Mittleren Ostens. Sie stellt Studien bereit, die auf Primarquellen in Sprachen der Region basieren und bietet thematische sowie methodische Impulse. Dieser Band beinhaltet "Crosshatching in Global Culture - A Dictionary of Modern Arab Writers: An Updated English Version of R.B. Campbell's "Contemporary Arab Writers".
Call Number: Main Library Reference PJ7521 .C76 2004ISBN: 3899134079Publication Date: 2004-10-01
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Recent changes in Islamic art in areas such as Afghanistan, Iran, and Iraq are elucidated here by distinguished scholars. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. With the fundamental understanding that Islamic art is not limited to a particular region, or to a defined period of time, The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers pathways into Islamic culture through its art.
Call Number: Main Library Reference N6260 .G75 2009ISBN: 9780195309911Publication Date: 2009-03-23
Online Sources
- Encyclopaedia Iranica The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. Represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible. Includes topics from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science.
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new window Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. Features advanced search options, as well as extensive cross-references and full-text search functionality using the Hebrew character set.
- Encyclopedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. Includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, as well as the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) This link opens in a new window The first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān This link opens in a new window Includes articles about the contents of the Qurʾān. An encyclopaedic dictionary of Qurʾānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qurʾānic studies.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window Contains critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam. Features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.
- Turkology Annual Online A searchable version of the annual bibliography, Turkologischer Anzeiger Developed and maintained at the University of Heidelberg
A Companion to the Anthropology of the Middle East by
A Companion to the Anthropology of the Middle East presents a comprehensive overview of current trends and future directions in anthropological research and activism in the modern Middle East. Named as one of Choice's Outstanding Academic Titles of 2016 Offers critical perspectives on the theoretical, methodological, and pedagogical goals of anthropology in the Middle East Analyzes the conditions of cultural and social transformation in the Middle Eastern region and its relations with other areas of the world Features contributions by top experts in various Middle East anthropological specialties Features in-depth coverage of issues drawn from religion, the arts, language, politics, political economy, the law, human rights, multiculturalism, and globalization
ISBN: 9781118475652Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Cultural sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa an encyclopedia. by ISBN: 9781452218458Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam by
Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this superb Oxford Dictionary provides more than 2,000 vividly written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format.The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners. What emerges is a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. Naturally, readers will find many entries on topics ofintense current interest, such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS. But the coverage goes well beyond recent headlines. There are biographical profiles, ranging from Naguib Mahfouz (the Nobel Prize winner from Egypt) to Malcolm X, including politicalleaders, influential thinkers, poets, scientists, and writers. Other entries cover major political movements, militant groups, and religious sects as well as terms from Islamic law, culture, and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks (such as Mecca and Medina). A series of entrieslooks at Islam in individual nations, such as Afghanistan, the West Bank and Gaza, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and the United States, and there are discussions of Islamic views on such issues as abortion, birth control, the Internet, the Rushdie Affair, and the theory of evolution.Whether we are listening to the evening news, browsing through the op-ed pages, or reading a book on current events, references to Muslims and the Islamic world appear at every turn. The Oxford Dictionary of Islam offers a wealth of information for anyone curious about this burgeoning andincreasingly important world religion.
ISBN: 9780195125580Publication Date: 2003-05-15
Digital Handbooks
- Routledge Handbook of Islamic Law by
This handbook is a detailed reference source comprising original articles covering the origins, history, theory and practice of Islamic law. The handbook starts out by dealing with the question of what type of law is Islamic law and includes a critical analysis of the pedagogical approaches to studying and analysing Islamic law as a discipline. The handbook covers a broad range of issues, including the role of ethics in Islamic jurisprudence, the mechanics and processes of interpretation, the purposes and objectives of Islamic law, constitutional law and secularism, gender, bioethics, Muslim minorities in the West, jihad and terrorism. Previous publications on this topic have approached Islamic law from a variety of disciplinary and pedagogical perspectives. One of the original features of this handbook is that it treats Islamic law as a legal discipline by taking into account the historical functions and processes of legal cultures and the patterns of legal thought. With contributions from a selection of highly regarded and leading scholars in this field, the Routledge Handbook of Islamic Law is an essential resource for students and scholars who are interested in the field of Islamic Law.
ISBN: 131575388XPublication Date: 2019-05-10
- Routledge Handbook on the Kurds by
With an estimated population of over 30 million, the Kurds are the largest stateless nation in the world. They are becoming increasingly important within regional and international geopolitics, particularly since the 2003 invasion of Iraq, the Arab Spring and the war in Syria. This multidisciplinary Handbook provides a definitive overview of a range of themes within Kurdish studies. Topics covered include: Kurdish studies in the United States and Europe Early Kurdish history Kurdish culture, literature and cinema Economic dimensions Religion Geography and travel Kurdish women The Kurdish situation in Turkey, Iraq, Syria and Iran The Kurdish diaspora. With a wide range of contributions from many leading academic experts, this Handbook will be a vital resource for students and scholars of Kurdish studies and Middle Eastern studies.
ISBN: 1317237994Publication Date: 2018-08-06
Routledge Handbook of Middle East Politics by
Drawing on various perspectives and analysis, the Handbook problematizes Middle East politics through an interdisciplinary prism, seeking a melioristic account of the field. Thematically organized, the chapters address political, social, and historical questions by showcasing both theoretical and empirical insights, all of which are represented in a style that ease readers into sophisticated induction in the Middle East. It positions the didactic at the centre of inquiry. Contributions by forty-four scholars, both veterans and newcomers, rethink knowledge frames, conceptual categories, and fieldwork praxis. Substantive themes include secularity and religion, gender, democracy, authoritarianism, and new "borderline" politics of the Middle East.　Like any field of knowledge, the Middle East is constituted by texts, authors, and readers, but also by the cultural, spatial, and temporal contexts within which diverse intellectual inflections help construct (write-speak) academic meaning, knowing, and practice. By denaturalizing notions of singularity of authorship or scholarship, the Handbook plants a dialogic interplay animated by multi-vocality, multi-modality, and multi-disciplinarity. Targeting graduate students and young scholars of political and social sciences, the Handbook is significant for understanding how the Middle East is written and re-written, read and re-read (epistemology, methodology), and for how it comes to exist (ontology).
ISBN: 9781351692588Publication Date: 2020-03-31
Routledge Handbook on Human Rights and the Middle East and North Africa by
Recent events such as 'Iran's Green Revolution' and the 'Arab Uprisings' have exploded notions that human rights are irrelevant to Middle Eastern and North African politics. Increasingly seen as a global concern, human rights are at the fulcrum of the region's on-the-ground politics, transnational intellectual debates, and global political intersections. The Routledge Handbook on Human Rights and the Middle East and North Africa: emphasises the need to consider human rights in all their dimensions, rather than solely focusing on the political dimension, in order to understand the structural reasons behind the persistence of human rights violations; explores the various frameworks in which to consider human rights--conceptual, political and transnational/international; discusses issue areas subject to particularly intense debate--gender, religion, sexuality, transitions and accountability; contains contributions from perspectives that span from global theory to grassroots reflections, emphasising the need for academic work on human rights to seriously engage with the thoughts and practices of those working on the ground. A multidisciplinary approach from scholars with a wide range of expertise allows the book to capture the complex dynamics by which human rights have had, or could have, an impact on Middle Eastern and North African politics. This book will therefore be a key resource for students and scholars of Middle Eastern and North African politics and society, as well as anyone with a concern for Human Rights across the globe.
ISBN: 9781317613763Publication Date: 2016-11-10
