Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle East Studies: Bibliographies

Guide to Middle East Studies: ancient, medieval & modern.

Bibliographies

Sezgin Online

Sezgin Online is a bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition that offers volumes 1-9 of Fuat Sezgin's renowned Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums (GAS), the largest bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition, particularly for the history of science and technology in the Islamic world.

Sezgin Online offers bio-bibliographical information about renowned figures (writers, poets, philosophers, physicians, scientists, linguists, etc.) from the Islamic world in the following subjects:
Qur'anic studies, law, mysticism (vol. 1)
• poetry in Arabic until the eleventh century CE (vol. 2)
• the history of Islamic medicine (vol. 3)
• chemistry (vol. 4)
• mathematics (vol. 5)
• astronomy (vol. 6)
• astrology (vol. 7)
• lexicography (vol. 8)
• grammar (vol. 9)

Bibliography of the Arabian Nights in Egypt

  • compiled by Rasoul Aliakbari
  • Aiming to be comprehensive, this project is evolving and testifies to the vibrant presence of the Nights in modern Egyptian literature and culture.

Arabian Nights Bibliography compiled by Ulrich Marzolph

Bibliografia espanola sobre el Norte de Africa by Rodolf Gil Grimau (Junta de Andalucia)

Bibliography by Topic of the Mathematical Sciences in the Medieval Islamic World

  • University of Indiana

Bibliography of Asian Studies UCSB Only

A Bibliography on Christianity in Palestine/Eretz-Israel

Center for the Study of Christianity, Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem   

Brief Bibliographical Guides in Medieval Islamic Philosophy and Theology (Catholic Univ. of America)

A Chronology of Nineteenth Century Periodicals in Arabic (1800-1900)

  • Zentrum Moderner Orient (ZMO)

The Dayan Center Bibliographical Database

  • The Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies, Tel Aviv University

Geschichte der arabischen LiteraturUCSB Only

  • Also in print REF PJ 7510. B7 1943

Mamluk Bibliography

  • Middle East Documentation Center, University of Chicago
  • Bibliographies of primary sources relating to the Mamluks

Online Comprehensive Bibliography on Syriac Christianity

            Center for the Study of Christianity, Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem        

Ottoman Bibliography

  • Edited by Ramazan Acun, Bahaeddin Yediyildiz, and Halil Inalcik. (Haceteppe Univ.)

A Selective Bibliography of Hadith Studies

  • By Benham and others             

Women in the Ancient Near East: a Select Bibliography of Recent Sources in the Oriental Institute Research Archives

  • Oriental Institute, Univ. of Chicago

Important Print Bibliographies

Geschichte der christlichen arabischen Literatur

  • Main Lib PJ 7519. C5 G7

Geschichte des arabischen Schriftums

  • REF Z 7052. S4

Persian Literature: A Bio-Bibliographic Survey

  • Main Lib Z7085. S88
  • Serials Z7085. S88

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies