Middle East Studies: Texts

American Board Pamphlet Collection

• DLIR
• The American Board pamphlet collection was incorporated into the American Research Institute in Turkey (ARIT) Istanbul Library in January 2011. It contains roughly 1000 brochures, booklets, leaflets, flyers, and off-prints that date from the mid-1800s to the present, with close to one-third from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Approximately 85% of the materials focus on the operations, institutions, or affiliate organizations of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions (ABCFM) that were located in Turkey and the Balkans.

Cairo Genizah from the Cambridge Digital Library

JIC: Jews of Islamic Countries Archiving Project (Tel-Aviv University)

The Middle East, 1916-2001: a Documentary Record

• Texts of important historical and diplomatic documents for the modern Middle East
• Part of The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy from the Goldman Law Library at Yale Univ.

The Princeton Geniza Project (Princeton Univ.)

The Uysal - Walker Archive of Turkish Oral Narrative (U-W ATON)

The Gertrude Bell Archive

• Newcastle University
• Diaries, letters, & photographs

King-Crane Commission Digital Archival Collection
         Oberlin College Archives

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Judaism

• Tanakh, Talmud, and others

The Babylonian Talmud

• The Soncino/Jews' College (London) translation

The Peshitta

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Islam

• Qur'an, Hadith, and others

The Noble Qur'an

• MSA, USC
• Three English translations by Yusuf Ali, Pickthall, and Shakir. Commentary by Maududi

The Noble Quran

• Arabic text with English translations by Shakir and Yusufali; English commentary by Pooya

The Koran

• University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
• English translation by Shakir

Sunnah and Hadith (MSA, USC)

ALTAFSIR.COM

• English translation of Tafsir al-Jalalayn and Tafsir Ibn 'Abbas

al-Mizan: an Exegesis of the holy Qur'an by Muhammad Husayn Tabatab'i

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Baha'i

• Kitab-i Aqdas, and others

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Gnosticism

• includes Mandaean texts

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Zoroastrianism

• The Zend-Avesta, and others