Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle East Studies: Web Sites

Guide to Middle East Studies: ancient, medieval & modern.

Online Sources - Religion

Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory

  • WWW Virtual Library

Baha'i Library Online

Harvard University Islamic Finance Project (IFP). HIFIP iData Bank

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Baha'i

  • Kitab-i Aqdas, and others

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Gnosticism

  • includes Mandaean texts

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Islam

  • Qur'an, Hadith, and others

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Judaism

  • Tanakh, Talmud, and others

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Zoroastrianism

  • The Zend-Avesta, and others

al-Islam

  • Islamic texts

Islam in Comparative Context: Online Resources

  • UC Berkeley, ORIAS
  • Developed for K-12 outreach, but some good online text sources of interest to all (e.g. "Islam in America" and "Women and Islam")

Islam - Islamic Studies

  • Prof. Alan Godlas, Univ. of Georgia
  • Emphasis on Islamic Studies, but some on modern Middle East  

Mandaic.org

  • Mandaic and Neo-Mandaic texts and resources

Overview of World Religions: Islam

  • Univ. College of St. Martin, U.K.

Overview of World Religions: Zoroastrianism

  • University College of St. Martin, U.K.

Virtual Religion Index: Islamic Studies

  • Rutgers Univ. Religion Deptartment
  • Islam; includes links to basic texts

Online Sources - Literature

Arabic Literature

  • Cornell University Library
  • Collection of texts and articles on Arabic literature. Primarily includes modern literary authors

Iransaga

  • Persian literature

Jehat al-Shi'r

  • Arabic poetry

Persopedia

  • Works by classical and modern Persian authors

al-Waraq

  • Classical Arabic texts in Arabic. Registration is required.

Online Sources - History

Economic History of the Ottoman Empire Project

  • University of Connecticut
  • A website dedicated to the measurement of prices, incomes, and welfare in the Ottoman Empire and to the political economy analysis of the origins and consequences of Ottoman institutions.

The Gertrude Bell Archive

  • Newcastle University
  • Diaries, letters, & photographs

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)

The Islamic World to 1600

  • University of Calgary
  • A tutorial

Online Sources - Comprehensive

Comprehensive Middle East Websites

Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR) (NYU)

ASSR: Arab Social Science Research

  • ASSR organization
  • Modern Middle East; social sciences

The Checklist of Arabic Documents

  • "Bibliography of editions of Arabic documentary texts - on papyrus, paper, parchment, leather, ostraca, wood, stone and bone - in monographs and articles...."

Digital Library of Arabic Heritage Books (al-Hakawati)

Electronic Middle East Sourcebook (EMES)

Hazine: a Guide to Researching the Middle East and beyond

Institute du Monde arabe

al-Khazina

  • Princeton University
  • An interactive database for the study of Islamic Culture, particularly in the early centuries"

Qatar Digital Library

  • Partnerships between the Qatar Foundation, the Qatar National Library and The British Library
  • Includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.

Turath.org

Online Sources - Law and Government

CIMEL: Islamic and Middle Eastern Law Materials on the Net

  • University of London, School of Oriental and African Studies
  • Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library

World Legal Materials from the Middle East (LII/Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School)

World LII Islamic Law (World LII Organization)
   

For information on Middle East Government, NGOs, and regional bodies which may include constitutions, laws, reports, etc. & current media sources from the Middle East. Websites for national governments and ministries are extremely difficult to maintain as slow response time and broken links are often encountered.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies