Dissertations & Theses
Finding dissertations and theses in the field of Middle East Studies:
You will probably most often find what you need through the ProQuest Dissertation & Theses database which contains dissertations and theses from U.S. and Canadian institutions
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955
American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955 provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to nearly 100,000 citations, it was created with the generous support of the H. W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston.
Note: While the records for each dissertation show a link to a full text PDF, these are PDFs of the original print index, NOT the dissertations themselves.
Dissertations & Theses (Digital Dissertations) 
- Indexes disserations from over 1000 predominantly North American universities.
- Includes dissertations submitted from 1861 to as recently as last semester.
- All citations from 1980 have an abstract. Masters theses with short abstracts are included from 1988
-
Dissertations & Theses provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text of UC dissertations in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1997 forward.
For dissertations approved at British institutions use
EThOS (Electronic theses online service)
- From the British Library
- Contains over 250,000 theses
-
Not all theses are available for immediate download
-
To access a special collection entitled JISC: Digital Islam: Theses on EThOS, enter the search phrase - JISC Digital Islam
-
JISC: Digital Islam: Theses on EThOS offers online access to over 900 dissertations produced in U.K. institutions since 1997. Digitized catalogues, dictionaries, and manuscripts will eventually be included
For dissertations approved at European (other than the U.K.) institutions use
- Not all universities participate
For dissertations approved at institutions throughout the world use
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
- A networked site for open access ETD portals
For citations to dissertations and theses produced at Lebanese institutions, search:
The Center for Research Libraries has a collection (selected) of dissertations from around the world; some are in digital format. Of special interest to the Middle East are a number of dissertations from Israeli institutions
- There are currently more than 90 countries and over 1200 institutions represented.
- CRL has catalog records for over 800,000 foreign doctoral dissertations.
Melvyl/Worldcat
You can also search for dissertations in Melvyl/Worldcat. If you know the author and/or title, search by that. If you are doing topical searches, when you get your search results, go to the left hand column; under BOOK, click on the box labelled THESIS/DISSERATION