The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented. Also available as a separate database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Date Coverage: 1881 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Plays; Poetry; Theses & Dissertations
Provides criticism and commentary on authors and their literary works written by contemporary and modern scholars. Literature Criticism Online includes the following series:Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Date Coverage: Varies
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters
Literature Online (LION) is a large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama. Works may be located by author or title, or searched full-text for specific words or phrases. Additionally, you can search secondary sources for biographical and critical pieces on authors and their works.
Gateway to the following literature resources:Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineGale Virtual Reference LibraryLiterature Criticism OnlineLiterature Resource Center (LRC)Scribner Writers on GVRLTwayne's Authors on GVRLThis site allows you to search all these resources with one search.
Materials Indexed: Biographical Information; Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Essays; Plays; Poetry