Find Articles
Slavic Studies Databases:
NOTE: Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
- The best database for finding scholarly articles on Slavic and Eastern European topics.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- Use for finding articles in English from international newspapers
- Use the "Map Search" link below the search box to limit by country
- NOTE: Russia is listed under "Asia"
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Covers history for all countries except the U.S. and Canada
- Use the "language list" to limit by language
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- Use for research on languages
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
- Use for political science and governmental topics
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
- Use to find public opinion polls
- Use the "Universe" box to limit by country
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- A good database for current events, articles on Slavic topics from western sources, etc.
- Ogonek Digital Archive / Огонёк: (Moscow: 1923-2021) This link opens in a new window
- Find articles in Russian from the popular magazine Ogonek. Includes articles from the Soviet and post-Soviet period.
- Ogonek Digital Archive / Огонёк: (St. Petersburg: 1899-1918) This link opens in a new window
- Find articles in Russian from the pre-revolutionary version of the popular magazine Ogonek.
Why Use Articles?
Articles provide focused discussions on specific topics. Because they are published more quickly and more frequently than books you will usually find the most recent works on a topic in the forms of articles.
Scholarly articles will always have citations to the author's sources in the form of footnotes, end notes, or a bibliography (or a combination of these). Peer reviewed articles are scholarly articles that were reviewed by experts in a field before being selected for publication.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
View of the Neva River in Saint Petersburg showing the Winter Palace, the Admiralty, and the dome of Saint Isaac's Cathedral.
Photo by Annie Platoff