Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Slavic and Eastern European Studies: Encyclopedias

Describes research sources for Russia, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union.

Encyclopedias in Russian

Post-Soviet Print Encyclopedia in Russian - Available in the Library

published from 2003-2018

Soviet-era Print Encyclopedias in Russian - Available on Request

Copies of two different editions of the Большая советская энциклопедия (Great Soviet Encyclopedia) are available in the University of California's Southern Regional Library Facility.  You can request individual volumes from this encyclopedia through our Interlibrary Loan Service. 

To place a request choose a link below, use the volume-to-letter guide in the Contents note to determine which volume(s) you need, sign in and look for the Interlibrary Loan link under "How to Get It".  Be sure to indicate which volumes you want in the "Comments" field of the ILL form before submitting your request.

Encyclopedias in English

Great Soviet Encyclopedia. New York : MacMillan, 1983-1993

Main Library AE55.B613 1970

English version of Большая советская энциклопедия.

An excellent resource for understanding how different topics were viewed in the Soviet Union.  This resource would have been available to Soviet citizens through the extensive public library system in the USSR.

Search topics in the Index volume first.  Each English volume corresponds to a Russian volume, so entries are not in English alphabetical order.

Also available in the Russian original.  See the "Encyclopedias in Russian" box on this page for more information.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies