Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Slavic and Eastern European Studies: News & Newspapers

Describes research sources for Russia, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union.

English-language News Sources

Current Digest of the Soviet / Post-Soviet / Russian Press

Translations of selected news articles from the Russian Federation and Soviet Union.  This publication has been published under three different titles which are all searchable in the same database. 

NOTE:  Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Access World News

NOTE:  Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Moscow Times

Russian-language News Sources

NOTE: 

This list of Russian news sources is presented in chronological order from the oldest materials through sources for current news.  For current news from the Russian Federation, see the tabs (above) for Nazavisimaia gazeta, Lenta.ru, Gazeta.ru, and BBC po-russki.

All content is in Russian.  While some of the Russian-language databases offer English-language user interfaces, searching must be done in Russian by typing in Cyrillic or using an onscreen input tool.  The UCSB Library does not offer translation services.

Imperial Russian Newspapers

Open Access database

Ogonek / Огонёк

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Pravda / Правда

Pravda (or "Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991,when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, dailyworkers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.The databases are searchable in transliterated Russian or in cyrillic.  All text is in Russian.

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Microfilm in Microforms Collection (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213.P73
  • 3/1917 - present
  • Most current microfilm lags approx. 6 mo. - 1 yr. behind print

Izvestiia / Известия

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.The database is searchable in transliterated Russian or in cyrillic. All text is in Russian.

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Microfilm in Microforms (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213 .I98
  • Feb. 8,1917 - June 1992

Komsomolskaya Pravda / Комсомольская правда

Microfilm in Microforms (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213 .K6
  • 1956 - present
  • Most current microfilm lags approx. 6 mo. - 1 yr. behind print

Krasnaia Zvezda / Красная звезда

Print issues in Current Serials

Microfilm in Microforms (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213.K67
  • 1988 - present
  • Most current microfilm lags approx. 6 mo. - 1 yr. behind print

Sovetskaia Rossiia / Советская Россия

Print issues in Current Serials

Microfilm in Microforms (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213.S695
  • 1985 – 2003

Trud / Труд

Microfilm in Microforms (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

  • AN213.T78
  • 1985 - present
  • Most current microfilm lags approx. 6 mo. - 1 yr. behind print

Nezavisimaia gazeta / Независимая газета

A reputed daily for the high-brow and politically active sections of society. A presitigious medium of expression for well-known politicians, business people and scholars of various convictions and inclinations. One of the best for high-quality publications devoted to literature, culture, history and the history of social ideas in Russia and abroad.

Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Лента.ру

RSS Feed:

Loading ...

Газета.ru

RSS Feed:

Loading ...

Би-би-си по-русски

BBC website for Russian speakers

News Sources

News Sources are a great way to get up-to-date information on other countries, or to see how events from the past were reported at the time they occurred.  When conducting historical research, news articles can be valuable primary sources.

This page includes links to resources for finding news from the Russian Federation, Central/Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union in Russian and English.  Some of these resources are freely available, while others are subscription databases (limited just to UCSB users).  For those requiring a subscription you will be prompted to log in with your UCSBnet ID and password.

NOTE: 

  • The first box below presents news sources that will be in English; the second box is for Russian-language news sources.
  • Resources with the lock icon are only available to UCSB faculty, staff, and students from off campus.

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies