LibGuides: Slavic and Eastern European Studies: News &amp; Newspapers

English-language News Sources

Current Digest of the Soviet / Post-Soviet / Russian Press

Translations of selected news articles from the Russian Federation and Soviet Union. This publication has been published under three different titles which are all searchable in the same database.

NOTE: Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Current Digest of the Russian Press (includes Post-Soviet & Soviet Press) This link opens in a new window
2011 - present
Date Coverage: 1949 - present
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources
Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
1992 - 2010
Date Coverage: 1992 - 2010
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources
Current Digest of the Soviet Press This link opens in a new window
1949 - 1991
Date Coverage: 1949 - 1991
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources

Access World News

NOTE: Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use for finding articles in English from international newspapers
Use the map to limit by country
NOTE: Look under "Asia" to find Russian newspapers
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles

Moscow Times

Moscow Times
Free website version
Russia’s leading, independent English-language publication. Our mission is to provide foreigners and internationally oriented Russians with breaking news, engaging stories and well-researched journalism about the largest country on Earth.

Russian-language News Sources

NOTE:

This list of Russian news sources is presented in chronological order from the oldest materials through sources for current news. For current news from the Russian Federation, see the tabs (above) for Nazavisimaia gazeta, Lenta.ru, Gazeta.ru, and BBC po-russki.

All content is in Russian. While some of the Russian-language databases offer English-language user interfaces, searching must be done in Russian by typing in Cyrillic or using an onscreen input tool. The UCSB Library does not offer translation services.

Imperial Russian Newspapers

Open Access database

Imperial Russian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
From the first newspapers established by Peter the Great to the fall of the Romanovs, the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history. From Peter the Great’s founding of the Russian empire, through the empire’s expansion during Catherine the Great, the abolishment of serfdom by Alexander II, the tumultuous years of Nicholas II, and everything in between.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.

The collection also includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia (over 10 key bibliographies) and a unique collection of dozens of contemporaneous (mostly nineteenth century) reference works offering detailed subject bibliographies of the articles appearing in the specific newspapers of the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection was facilitated by the outstanding bibliographic work done by librarians and scholars in major Russian libraries, primarily the National Library of Russia’s Newspaper Division, which is one of the largest newspaper libraries in the world.

The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection was made possible thanks to the active support of the National Library of Russia. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
Dates: 1782-1917 (Imperial Russia)
Materials Indexed: Archival Materials, Newspaper Articles, Primary Sources

Ogonek / Огонёк

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Ogonek (2020+)
Recent articles from Ogonek

Ogonek Digital Archive / Огонёк: (Moscow: 1923+) This link opens in a new window
Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923. Throughout its illustrious history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural luminaries as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others.
Ogonek Digital Archive / Огонёк: (St. Petersburg: 1899-1918) This link opens in a new window
Established in 1899 and in continuous print until 1918, Ogonek first came on the scene as a weekly illustrated supplement to the influential St.Petersburg-based newspaper Birzhevye Vedomosti. Having posted impressive growth in readership, in 1902 Ogonek would chart an independent course, becoming a separate entity and attracting period’s most notable journalists, photographers, literati and critics. In short, this was the period of the formation of magazine’s foundational aesthetic sensibilities, for which it would become famous until its unceremonious closure by the Bolshevik revolutionaries in 1918 for propagating anti-Soviet views.

Pravda / Правда

Pravda (or "Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991,when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, dailyworkers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.The databases are searchable in transliterated Russian or in cyrillic. All text is in Russian.

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Pravda Digital Archive / Правда (2010-present) This link opens in a new window
Access to current content of Pravda (2010 - present)
Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.
Date Coverage: 2010 - present
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources
Pravda Digital Archive / Правда (1912-2009) This link opens in a new window
Access to older issues of Pravda (1912 - 2009)
Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.
Date Coverage: 1912 to 2009
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources

Правда
Free website version

Microfilm in Microforms Collection (2nd Floor, Ocean Side)

AN213.P73
3/1917 - present
Most current microfilm lags approx. 6 mo. - 1 yr. behind print

Izvestiia / Известия

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.The database is searchable in transliterated Russian or in cyrillic. All text is in Russian.

Databases require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Izvestiia (2013-present)
Articles from Izvestiia
Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.

Izvestiia Digital Archive / Известия (1917-2011) This link opens in a new window
Online access to scanned versions of Izvestiia
Database requires a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.
Date Coverage: 1917-2011
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources

Известия (web version)
Free website version.