Broadcast News
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of television news from major U.S. national broadcast networks, covering special reports and periodic news broadcasts such as political campaign coverage and wars.
- Hearst Metrotone News CollectionCollection of newsreels shown in theatres from 1929-1967. This collection of newsreels is made available from the UCLA Film & Television Archive and the Packard Humanities Institute in an effort to make the Hearst newsreel collection more easily accessible to the public.
Center For Research Libraries
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe CRL has an extensive newspaper collection (domestic and international). Their resources are available to UCSB students and faculty, via interlibrary loan. Search their catalog, which has a newspapers limit, and visit their CRL News page below.
Historical Newspapers: Individual Titles
Note that the Chicago Tribune, LA Times, NY Times, WSJ, and Washington Post can be searched simultaneously. Once in either of the databases, click "Select Multiple Databases."
- British Newspaper Archive (17th and 18th Centuries)17th and 18th C. newspapers digitized by the British Library. While UCSB does not have a subscription to this full-text database, the search interface is free to the public and quite a few selected articles are available free of charge. It is an excellent finding aid.
Historical Newspapers: Multiple Title Collections
LATE 2OTH CENTURY COLLECTIONS
Open Access Digital Newspapers
These open access resources, from various instituions, are freely available on the Web and do not require using the off-campus login process. As a result, the search engines, interfaces and indexes, aren't as robust, or perhaps as user-friendly, as the commerical products in the library collection.
Internet Archive - newspapers are just one type of material IA has digitized and made available to the public.
- California Newspaper Project This link opens in a new window
Project to describe and preserve California newspapers. Close to 9,000 California newspapers were inventoried in over 1,400 repositories throughout the state, 1.5 million pages of California newspapers were preserved and made available on microfilm, and 100,000 rolls of negative microfilm rolls are being processed for permanent storage at the UC Regional Library Storage Facilities. This database allows researchers to narrow their contacts to institutions holding relevant titles.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. A long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.