English Language Newspapers
- Japan Times Digital ArchiveJapan's oldest English language newspaper. Full texts of news articles published between 3/22/1897 to 12/31/2018.
- Japan Chronicle OnlineIncludes Japan Chronicle Weekly (1900–1940) and its predecessor, Kobe Weekly Chronicle (1900-1901).
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current newspapers such as Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, China Newspaper collection, etc.
- More news sourcesA useful guide on English language newspapers and news magazines created by Richard Caldwell.
Japanese Language Newspapers
- Asahi Shimbun Cross Search (朝日新聞クロスサーチ) This link opens in a new windowA full text database of Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞 (1879-present), including full images of Asashi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版 (1879-1989), Asahi gurafu アサヒグラフ (1923-1956) and "Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu 朝日新聞歴史写真アーカイブ," a historical photo archive, 1928-1944.
Note: Two (2) accesses shared among 8 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use. - Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpo This link opens in a new window臺灣日日新報 (also known as theTaiwan Daily News) was the most circulated and longest running Japanese language newspaper in Taiwan under Japanese colonial rule from 6/17/1896-3/31/1944. 漢文臺灣日日新報, a Chinese language edition of the newspaper, was launched between 1905-1911.
- Rafu shimpo 羅府新報A preeminent Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans.
- Yomidasu Rekishikan (ヨミダス歴史館) This link opens in a new windowA full text database of Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞 (1874-present), including full images of Yomiuri shinbun shukusatsuban 読売新聞縮刷版 (1874-1989), The Daily Yomiuri (1989-present) and Gendai jinmeiroku 現代人名録 (Who’s Who), a bio-dictionary of prominent figures.
Note: Two (2) access shared among 6 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use.
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution)The world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
- Mainichi Photo BankA photo database of Mainichi Shinbun 毎日新聞.
- New Japanese American News 新日米 Shin Nichibei (1947-1966)A Los Angeles-based daily newspaper in Japanese and English.
- Utah Nippo (1914-1991)A Salt Lake City-based Japanese American newspaper in Japanese and English.
- 新聞集成明治編年史 (print)Selected news articles from numerous Japanese newspapers in the Meiji period arranged in chronological order.
- 新聞集成昭和編年史 (print)Selected news articles from numerous Japanese newspapers in the Showa period arranged in chronological order.
- 新聞集成大正編年史 (print)Selected news articles from numerous Japanese newspapers in the Taisho period arranged in chronological order.
News Aggregators
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull texts news articles from U.S. and international news sources. This archive provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowProvides access to global news and business information from nearly 9,000 sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report (FBIS) This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century from all countries outside the US. The "Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives: Propaganda and the Chinese Press" module is an archive of articles published by Xinhua or New China News, the major communist Chinese newspapers, from 1946 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.
- Google News Archive This link opens in a new window
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull texts of news articles published in over 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Selected full texts of 370+ U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts, including CBS news, CNN, Fox news, NPR and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window(Formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to 17,000+ news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Including three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of US and international news sources back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated US and foreign economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.