Finding Editorials & Op-Eds
- An editorial is a piece written by the editorial board or staff of a publication and is intended to represent the collective opinion or official stance of the newspaper or magazine
- An op-ed (short for "opposite the editorial page") is an opinion piece written by an outside contributor, expert, or guest writer. An op-ed reflects the personal opinion or perspective of the individual author, rather than the publication's official stance.
UCSB Library subscribes to many databases that contain editorials and opinion pieces. Below are a few excellent places to start:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni is vast archive of news, business, and legal sources.
--go to News in the top margin
--select By Type and choose Major Newspapers
--Choose Advanced Search (the link is under the text box)
--type your keywords
--scroll down to the field for Section. Type Editorial or Opinion, or both
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of global, national, and regional news sources.
--enter your search terms
--select Editorial or Commentary (or both) in the Document Type box at the bottom of the page
--search the entire collection, or choose specific news sources from the Databases box
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad, multidisciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
--enter your search terms
--scroll to the Document Type dropdown menu and select Editorial or Opinion (or both)
--from the Publication Type box, select Newspaper
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFocuses on ethnic, minority, and native press. This is one of dozens of databases that are included in ProQuest News and Newspapers, above. You can also search each separately
--from the Source Type box, select Newspapers
-- from the Document Type box, select Commentary or Editorial, or both.
