It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NOTE: Use the campus VPN to access this database. The map feature for selecting the geographic range of news coverage does not work with the proxy server.
Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. This archive provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Asahi Kikuzo II Visual is one of the largest on-line newspaper database in Japan, containing over 8,000,000 articles. The database includes four sections:
Asahi Shinbun newspaper: 1945-present AERA weekly magazine: May 1988-present Shukan Asahi weekly magazine (news section only): April 2000-present Historical Photo Archive : 1930-1945. (10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs)
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
With a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. Created in May 1946, People's Daily carries the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China. . Searchable by data, author, headline, column, page, section, and keyword. Browsable by date. All articles can be displayed and printed in full text.
Date Coverage: 1946 - present
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles
Access to older issues of Pravda (1912 - 2009).Pravda (or "Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement.After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.The database is searchable in transliterated Russian or in cyrillic. All text is in Russian.
Date Coverage: 1912 to 2009
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources
Shen Bao (申報), also known as Shun Bao, is the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. It was established by British businessman Ernest Major in 1872 and lasted until 1949 when the Chinese Communist Government shut it down. As an important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao underwent three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and witnessed many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, and two World Wars. Known for its rich news reporting,commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.
Date Coverage: 1872-1949
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles