Japan's oldest English language newspaper. Full texts of news articles published between 3/22/1897 to 12/31/2018.
Date Range: 1897 - present (except current year not available)
Thematic Dates: Imperial Periods Covered: Meiji ([1868-1913] 1897-1912); Taishō (1912-1926); Shōwa (1926-1989), Heisei ([1989-present] 1989-2014)
The North-China Herald (1850~1941) 北华捷报
The North-China Daily News (1865~1951) 字林西报
The North-China Desk Hong List (1872~1941) 字林西报行名录
The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser (1862~1872) 每日航运和商业新闻
Hu Bao (1882~1908) 沪报
Han Bao (1894~1900) 汉报
Xiu Xian Bao (1898~1906) 消闲报
Note: Note: Limited accesses shared among 5 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use.
Historical and current newspaper databases, including major newspapers, such as Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, South Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
The Chinese newspaper collection:
-North China Herald (1850-1941)
-Canton Times (1919-1920)
-China Critic (1939-1946)
-The China Press (1925-1938)
-China Weekly Review (1917-1953)
-Chinese Recorder (1868-1940)
-Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
-Peking Daily News (1914-1917)
-Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
-Peking Leader (1918-1919
-Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
-Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
Date Coverage: varies
Materials Indexed: Newsletter Articles
Full texts news articles from U.S. and international news sources. This archive provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Provides access to global news and business information from nearly 9,000 sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications.
FBIS Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century from all countries outside the US. The "Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives: Propaganda and the Chinese Press" module is an archive of articles published by Xinhua or New China News, the major communist Chinese newspapers, from 1946 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.
Date Coverage: 1941-1996
Materials Indexed: Radio Broadcasts
Full texts of news articles published in over 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Selected full texts of 370+ U.S. newspapers, and full-text television and radio news transcripts, including CBS news, CNN, Fox news, NPR and more.
(Formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to 17,000+ news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Including three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of US and international news sources back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated US and foreign economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Provides full text search to 600 million volumes of e-books, dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. Its comprehensiveness and functionality can be best related as the Chinese version of Google Books and Google Scholar.
Includes top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Greater China, for example,
PRC: 21st Century Business Herald (21世纪经济报道)，Economic Daily (经济日报), Yangcheng Evening News (羊城晚报)，Beijing Evening News (北京晚报）
Taiwan: Apple Daily (台灣蘋果日報), China Times (中國時報)
Hong Kong：Ta Kung Pao (大公報)，Wen Wei Po (文匯報)，Ming Pao (明報)，Sing Tao Daily (星島日報)，South China Morning Post（南華早報）
Macao: Macao Daily News (澳門日報)
Date Coverage: 1998-present (news from Mainland China); 2000-present (news from other regions); updated daily
Materials Indexed: Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles; Websites
A Taiwan newspaper printed in traditional Chinese. The newspaper was first published on 17 April 1980, as Liberty Daily, before adopting its current name in 1987. It is one of the four major newspapers in Taiwan, the other three being the Apple Daily 蘋果日報, the China Times 中國時報, and the United Daily News 聯合報.