Search the New York Times
-
New York Times - Historical (1851-2008) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Offers researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective.
Create Your Account For The New York Times Online
Create Your New York Times Account
A New York Times online subscription is available to all UCSB students, faculty, and staff, thanks to funding from the UCSB library.
To create your account, visit accessnyt.com search and select University of California, Santa Barbara. Follow the simple instructions, and remember to use your campus email. After you have registered, simply log in via NYTimes.com.
New, Expanded NYT.com Content!
The UCSB Library Has Expanded Its Subscription to New York Times All Access!
All Access includes everything the New York Times offers:
● News: Understand the world with original reporting from 1,700 journalists
● Games: Spelling Bee, Wordle, The Crossword and more.
● Cooking: Recipes, advice and inspiration for any occasion.
● Wirecutter: Independent reviews for thousands of products
● The Athletic: In-depth, personalized sports journalism.
Tips and Troubleshooting
Tips for the Best NYTimes.com Experience
-
Customize your settings for better accessibility: closed captioning, transcript and text size
-
If you have an existing paid NYT subscription with your UCSB email, you must cancel it before it may be linked to your school’s program; you may cancel through Customer Care: customercare@nytimes.com / 800-591-9233 / chat
-
The accessnyt.com is needed ONLY to sign up for or renew access; all content is at nytimes.com (or download the mobile app from the App Store or on Google Play).
-
Students will have access until they graduate.
-
Faculty and staff must renew once every four years.
-
You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
-
Limit of 5 pdf downloads per day for 1923-1980 via nytimes.com TimesMachine.
-
Still Need More Help with NYT?Review help topics at the link above or chat with a NYT Customer Care advocate.
Tips for Additional Access to New York Times Content
There is a limit of 5 pdf downloads per day for 1923-1980 via nytimes.com. Our databases are more powerful search tools than the nytimes.com site, allow for unlimited downloads, and will create better citations digitally. See the Search the New York Times box for links to our NYT current and historical database collections.
The New York Times in Education
Want to Use the New York Times in Your Classroom?
Our academic subscription also offers The New York Times in Education resource, which provides the following resources designed for educators:
-
Discipline-specific areas of study
-
General instructional strategies to promote student achievement
-
Co-curricular activities, including events, discussions, and contests
Simply complete a short registration. Be sure to use your @ucsb.edu e-mail address.