Skip to Main Content
University of California, Santa Barbara
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Careers and Jobs
Search this Guide
Chemistry & Biochemistry: Careers and Jobs
Subject guide for chemistry and biochemistry
Conference Papers and Proceedings
Copyright and Fair Use
Chemical Data Sources
Jobs and Careers
Other Collections of Web Sites
Careers and Jobs
Open Educational Resources
Meet with Me
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Materials Science & Engineering
Career and Job Resources
Career support for scientists from the American Association for the Advancemtn of Science (AAAS). The site includes a link to career resources at Science magazine.
The Academic Job Search Handbook
A recent (2016) book for those seeking jobs in academia.
Note: Only one person may check this e-book out at a time. The link may not work properly in Chrome.
ACS Career Navigator
A wide-ranging collection of career and job finding resources from the American Chemical Society.
Job-hunting and career development information from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).
The careers site of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Includes career development and career path suggestions, as well as a database of summer research opportunities.
A commercial site with career resources and job postings "for postgraduate life scientists."
Biochemical Society Careers
Career information for biochemists and molecular bioscientists from the Biochemical Society.
Chemistryjobs.com Career Center
Suggestions on resume writing, interview skills and other job seeking advice form Chemistryjobs.com
Graduate Career Consortium: Resources
The Graduate Career Consortium is an organization for professionals who assist college graduates with their careers. This page is a collection of useful online resources,
MRS Careers and Advancement
Careers information from the Materials Research Society (MRS).
This site from Nature Publishing includes numerous articles on career issues, as well as Nature's job postings database.
Networking for Nerds: Find, Access and Land Hidden Game-Changing Career Opportunities Everywhere
Recent (2015) guide to crafting professional networks for scientists and engineers, whether beginning or experienced.
New Scientist Careers Hub
A collection of articles on career issues from New Scientist magazine.
RSC Careers Support
Career resources from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Note that some of these resources are for members only.
A resource for scholars with doctorates in any field who are seeking employment outside of academia.
The American Chemical Society's Individual Development Plan tool, designed specifically for chemists.
Myers & Briggs Foundation - MBTI
The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, a personality test that assigns the user to one of 16 personality types, is widely in use, and available from many sources. This site explains the test, as well as providing a link to the test.
This is an Individual Development Plan resource from the ScienceCareers site of AAAS.
A commercial strengths assessment site, with a variety of tools at a variety of prices.
This commercial tool, from the Gallup organization, helps the user to determine their strengths. Note that the tool is NOT free and the costs vary depending on how extensive a report you want.
AIChE Career Engineer Job Board
Job listings for chemical engineers from AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers.)
ASBMB Job Board
Job listings from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Full access requires an ASBMB membership.
Biochemical Society Job Board
Job postings from the Biochemical Society/
Job listings from the American Chemical Society news magazine, C&EN (Chemical and Engineering News.)
Commercial site for chemistry job seekers.
Chemistry World Jobs
Job listings from the Royal Society of Chemistry's news magazine, Chemistry World.
A commercial site for chemistry job seekers.
Chronicle of Higher Education Jobs
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a prime source for faculty, research and administrative positions in academia.
MRS Career Central Job Board
Job listings from the Materials Research Society.
Job listings from Nature magazine.
New Scientist Jobs
Jobs listing from New Scientist magazine. You may use keyword search, or select broad discipline categories (e.g. chemistry.)
Job listings at ScienceCareers, the jobs site of Science magazine and the AAAS.
Open Educational Resources >>
Apr 6, 2023 9:56 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010