Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources for Chemistry and Biochemistry
This page is a collection of links to Open Educational Resources (OER) for Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Open Educational Resources (OERs) are educational materials that are in the public domain or are licensed to allow free use and reuse by anyone. using Creative Commons licensing. For additional information on the nature and benefits of OER, see the UCSB Library's OER guide at https://guides.library.ucsb.edu/open-education-resources
These include online textbooks, video lectures and courses, tutorials and other resources. The page is a work in progress. More resources are being added regularly.
Open Educational Resources for Chemistry and Biochemistry
This site, created by Francois Vermersch, texts, quizzes, examples and exams for three sections of general chemistry and three sections of organic chemistry.
Openstax Chemistry 2e
General chemistry textbook, with instructor and student resources, from the Openstax collection of open textbooks across many disciplines.
Openstax Chemistry: Atoms First
Another Openstax general chemistry textbook.
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphais, Volumes 1 & II
Introductor organic chemistry texts from the University of British Columbia's Open Education site.
General chemistry textbook from University of British Columbia's OpenEd.
Analytical Chemistry 2.0
Analytical chemistry textbook via Univesity of British Columbia's OpenEd.
A large collection of textbooks across many areas of chemistry, from a host of university sources. Also incluses demonstrations and applications. LibreTexts originated at UC Davis.
A large collection of biology textbooks (including biochemistry and molecular biology) from LibreTexts. LibreTexts oriinated at UC Davis.
Open Textbook LibraryL Chemistry
A collection of open textbooks across a wide area of chemistry and biochemistry (including some of the texts individually listed on this page.)
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry
Created by William Reusch and made available under a Creative Commons license.
An Open Learning Cheminformatics course, aimed at undergraduates, 2019 version
OER Commons: Chemistry
A collection of OER texts with the assined subject heading Chemistry
A collection of text, lecture notes and illustation for a full courdse of freshman chemistry
A collection of mongraphs in chemistry and biochemistry, possibly useful for upper-division undergraduate or graduate courses.
Affiliate with Chemistry Wrld magazine, the podcast collection covers elements, compounds and a science book club.
Podcasts on the history of chemistry and other sciences from the Science History Institute (Philadelphia, PA).
ACS Science Elements
Science news podcasts produced by the American Chemical Society (ACS).
Podcast series about chemistry of popular interst from the American Cehemical Cociety (ACS).
C&EN's Stereo Chemistry
Monthly sereis of podcasts about chemistry in the news from Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN), the news magazine of the American Chemical Society (ACS).
Chemistry for Your Life
Biweekly series of podcasts about "everyday chemistry", , hosted by Melissa Collini and Jam Robinson.
My Fave Queer Chemist
A series of interviews by two graduate students at the University of Michigan with LGBTQ+ chemists in academia and industry about hteir research and career experiences.
General Chemistry Tutorials from UIUC
A collection of free tutorials for introductory chemistry from the Chemistry Larning Center, Dept. of Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)
Videos and tutorials on classic SciFinder from CAS.
Webinars and other videos for training in SciFinder-n from CAS.
Video tutorials for Reaxys from Elsevier.
Clarivate Video Tutorials
Video tutorials for users of Clarivate Analytics prducts, including Web of Science, EndNote and Journal Citation Reports.
Video tutorials and other resources for sophisticated patent searching in the Derwent databases, from Clarivate Analytics. (Note: Examples may not use the Derwent Innovations Index interface.)
Science of Synthesis Tutorials
Video tutorials for the Science of Synthesis database from Thieme Chemistry.
EBSCO Interface Tutorials
A wide range of tutorials on the EBSCOhost interface (including databases like Academic Search Complete and Business Ssource Complete.)
Video tutorials on using the ProQuest platform and ProQuest e-Book Central.
Engineering Village Tutorials
Video tutorials for the Engineering Village platform (includes Compendex) from Elsevier.
Altmetric.com YouTube Channel
Video tutorials from Altmetric.com.
Zotero - list of tutorial videos
A collection of tutorial videos for the Zotero bibliographic database software.
Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre Video Channel
Webinars and tutorials from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC).
BIO-RAD Video Tuorials
Vidoe tutorials, primary on biochemical and microbiological lab techniques, from BIO-RAD.
NIST tutorials in Analytical Chemistry
A series of video and PowerPoint tutorials on various aspects of analytical chemistry from the National Institute for Standards and Technnlogy (NIST)>
Tutorials on the tools and resources available at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Ncbi Webinar Archive
Archived webinars from NCBI
A collection of resources aimed at teachers of chemistry, sy yjr johj dvjpp; smf vp;;rhr ;rbr;/
A collection of online simulations for use with chemistry instruction.
Collection of a wide range of types of resources for chemistry (includs some resources linked individaully on this page.)
A collection of a wide range of types of resources for biochemistry (including some individualy linked on this page.)
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Mason OER Metafinder
Search tool for locating Open Educational Resources. This powerful tol lets you filter by topic, author, source, etc.
Free tools to let you license your creations as open resources.
Creative Commons Search (CC Search)
This tool allows you to search for images which are available under Creative Commons license for you to use in teaching and larning.
Site for locating free reusable images, audio and video under Creative Commons license. You can also upload and share your own content here.
Librivox is a collection of free audiobooks, browsable by genre and subject. This link connects to their Chemistry collection.
A broad collection of education resources from the Royal Society of Chemistry (Rsca)>
ACS Molecule of the Week Archive
Collection of artilces on interesting moleculaes from the American Chemical Society (ACS).
A collection of teaching resources from Carnegie Mellon University, aimed primarily at high chool chemistry instruction, but which can also be useful for introductory college-level students.
, Chemical Engineering
, Materials Science & Engineering
, Statistics (discipline)
, Technical Reports
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies