LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles

Find Articles

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
New user? You must register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to begin. Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. Searches Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area. Also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature.
SciFinderⁿ allows searching by author, topic or chemical substance in the Chemical Abstracts Service databases:
- CAPLUS: covers journal articles, patents, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations and more.
- CAS REGISTRY: covers over 100 million substances with links to commercial availability information and regulatory information for many substances, and an ever-growing array of calculated and experimental property data for many substances.
- CASREACT file: includes single and multi-step organic reaction records and detailed reaction information for selected reactions.
- MARPAT file: includes searchable Markush structures from chemical patents. Many patents are linked to PatentPak full text.
- MEDLINE database: the world's biomedical literature.
SciFinderⁿ includes structure drawing tools for structure and substructure searching of chemicals and reactions, and similarity searching of organic compounds. It also provides a Retrosynthetic Plan tool to help you create synthetic paths to a desired substance.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Many citations include abstracts.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
Free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 30 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 470 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Indexes reports and provides PDF copies of some reports. Note: While access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
Date Coverage: 1964 - present (index); 1995 - present (full-text PDFs)
Materials Indexed: Technical Reports
Preprint Citation Index
Indexes preprints from five major repositories: arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv and Preprints.org. It provides a version history of preprints (where applicable) and links to citing preprint references as well as to citing references in journal articles, conference papers, and patents.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. Also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.
- Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties.
- These include links to PubMed scientific literature and NCBI's protein 3D structure resource.
- Links to PubChem's bioassay database present the results of biological screening.
- Links to depositor web sites provide further information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
Our listing provides users with additional functionality including “Get it at UC” links to full text of journals.
Users who do not have a UCSBnet ID and password can use the non-UC version of PubMed for searching.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Indexes millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions, providing chemical and physical property information. Combines the Beilstein Handbook for Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. Searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
To use this database you must be using a UCSB IP address (see IP Authentication below) AND sign in with a personal Reaxys account. If you do not yet have an account, see “First Time Users” below.
IP Authentication:
Ensure that you are using a UCSB IP address via one of 4 methods
- use a computer on campus that is connected to a UCSB network
- authenticate using the campus proxy server
- authenticate by using the campus VPN
- use the “Sign in via your institution” option in Reaxys (underneath the “Sign in” button)
  - Select "University of California, Santa Barbara" from the list
  - Click “Go”
  - Authenticate with your UCSBnet ID and password
After IP authentication you will need to log in with your UCSB email address and personal Reaxys password
First Time Users:
- First, ensure that you are using a UCSB IP address via one of 4 methods described above
- Next, click on “Not Registered?”
- Fill out the form using your UCSB email address, and create your personal Reaxys password
- Go to your email and complete the registration process
Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Compendium of synthetic methods for organic and organometallic chemistry. Browsable by table of contents, and searchable by keyword, by structure, or by substructure. Includes the electronic backfile (Houben-Weyl Archive) providing immediate access to hundreds of thousands of product specific experimental procedures, structures, and references in all fields of synthetic organic chemistry - dating back to the early 1800s.
- Note that many of the Houben-Weyl Archive articles are in German.
- Pop-up blockers must be deactivated.
- Structure searching requires either Java applet capability, or the presence of ChemDraw on the user's computer.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
Web of Science consists of 9 databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Sciences
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities
- Book Citation Index - Science
- Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Index Chemicus

Collect and Organize Your References in a Personal Database

EndNoteWeb
- Create a personal database file of your favorite references by importing answer sets from catalogs and article indexes
- Generate bibliographies automatically formatted in your desired style (e.g. ACS, CSE, APA)
- Access your fles from any Web-connected computer.

Verify Journal Abbreviations/Full Titles

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
- Provides full journal titles, standard CAS abbreviations, ISSNs and CODENs for all journals indexed by Chemical Abstracts since 1907.
- Searchable by full title, abbreviation, ISSN, ISBN or CODEN.
- Can be used to track journal title changes, mergers, splits, with hot links to former and successor titles.

Evaluate Journals by Impact Factor

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of the article publication and citation patterns of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles

Find Articles

IP Authentication:

First Time Users: