Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Physical Chemistry

Subject guide for chemistry and biochemistry

Locating Books

To locate books on your topic, use the UCSB Library Search. As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. For collections of data, add handbooks or tables to your keywords.

If you find a relevant record, check its subject headings to see if there is alternative terminology you should try. Similarly, use keyword searches to find books on particular analytical methods (mass spectrometry, atomic absorption). You may also want to browse in the book stacks. Useful call nubmer ranges include:

  • Spectroscopy QC 450-467 (in chemical analysis, QD 95-97)
  • General physical chemistry QD 450-458
  • Quantum chemistry QD 462
  • Physical inorganic chemistry QD 475
  • Physical inorganic chemistry QD 476
  • Chemical reaction kinetics, mechanisms, catalysis QD 501-505
  • Surface chemistry QD 506-508
  • Thermochemistry QD 510-511
  • Electrochemistry QD 551-571
  • Radiation chemistry QD 601-655
  • Photochemistry QD 701-731
  • Crystallography QD 901-999

Data Tables

Landolt-Börnstein (QC 61 .L3)
This large set of data tables for physics and chemistry has been published over the past 90+ years. UCSB owns a partial print set (see the call number above), but the set from 1918-2009 is available online to UCSB users. The series is divided into broad groupings as follows:

  • Group 1: Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms
  • Group 2: Molecules and Radicals
  • Group 3: Condensed Matter
  • Group 4: Physical Chemistry
  • Group 5: Geophysics
  • Group 6: Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Group 7: Biophysics
  • Group 8: Advanced Materials and Technologies

At present, our print copy is in off-campus storage. The online archive may be browsed by the title of individual volumes; there is currently no full-text searching of the online archive.

General Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry (Internet resource only)
This encyclopedia, published by the Institute of Physics (the primary society for physicists in the UK) in 2001, comprises three volumes on fundamentals, methods and applications in chemical physics and physical chemistry.

Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry    (SEL Ref QD 39.3 .E46 E53 1998)
This five-volume encyclopedia has brief articles on all aspects of computational chemistry methods and applications, with good indexing and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance    (SEL Ref QC 762 .E53 1996)
This encyclopedia has eight volumes (published in 1996) with brief articles on all aspects of nuclear magnetic resonance theory, methods and applications, with a ninth "Advances in NMR" volume added in 2002. The articles have good bibliographies, and the set is well indexed.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry    (SEL Ref QD 95 .E55 2000)
This three-volume encyclopedia has brief articles on theory, methods and applications in nearly all areas of spectroscopy. The articles have good bibliographies, and the set is well indexed.

Handbook of Molecular Physics and Quantum Chemistry    (SEL Ref QD 461 .H25 2003)
This three-volume handbook devotes its first volume to "Fundamentals", the second to "Molecular Electronic Structure" and the third to "Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment: Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties". The articles are detailed, by experts in their fields, with good references and cross-referencing.

Catalysis from A to Z    (SEL Ref QD 505 .C383 2003)
A one-volume dictionary of terms and concepts in catalysis.

Encyclopedia of Catalysis    (SEL Ref QD 505 .E53 2003)
This six-volume encyclopedia has chapters by experts in their respective fields on various aspects of the theory and application of homogenous, heterogenous and biological catalysis. Detailed, with good bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science    (SEL Ref QD 506 .E52 2002)
A four-volume encyclopedia containing brief, highly specific articles on aspects of surface and colloid science. Somewhat difficult to use by browsing, it is fortunately well-indexed.

Locating Articles

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies