Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Data Repositories

Subject guide for chemistry and biochemistry

What are Data Repositories?

For purposes of this page, data repositories are sites where researchers can store, retrieve, and, most importantly, share their raw research data. They are not to be confused with data collections, in which editors assemble and organize data from a variety of sources (e.g. Reaxys, CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, etc.)

For more information on data management for researchers, see the Research Data Management guide.

To locate datasets other than the ones listed below, try the Google Dataset Search.

Chemistry/Biochemistry Data Repositories

Cambridge Structural Database - A world repository of small molecule crystal structures.

Chemistry Data Repositories - Curated by Stanford University Libraries

Chemistry Data Repositories - Part of the Open Access Directory maintained at Simmons University.

Data Citation Index - Iindexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work.UCSB Only

DOE Data Explorer - Provides a place to discover scientific research data generated from projects funded wholly or in part by the US Department of Energy. Topics vary from astrophysics to general science to x-rays. Records in the DDE link to open datasets, data collections, or repositories.

Dryad Digital Repository - A curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.

Entrez databases - A directory of chemical, biochemical, biomedical, and medical databases from the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Figshare Chemistry - Briowse Figshare for chemistry data by topic.

Nature Scientific Data - Scientific Data is an open-access, peer-reviewed publication for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies