Units of Measure, Physical Constants, Physical Laws
Besides the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (see below), there are a number of sources which specialize in units of measure and other basic information for scientific calculation. Examples include:
For Good Measure by William D. Johnstone
Call Number: Reference ; QC88 .J6
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Lists equivalents for common weights and measures, including special engineering and electrical units, around the world and throughout history, with conversion factors and brief accounts of selected units' origins and applications.
Conversion tables of units in science & engineering by Ari L. Horvath
Call Number: Reference ; QC94 .H67 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Conversion factors for a wide range of useful units, arranged in tabular form.
Handbook of physical calculations : definitions, formulas, technical applications, physical tables, conversion tables, graphs, dictionary of physical terms by Jan J. Tuma.
Call Number: Reference ; QC61 .T85 1983
ISBN: Conversion factors for a wide range of useful units, arranged in tabular form.
This National Institute of Standards and Technology has a searchable and browsable list of the important physical constants with bibliography, as well as a thorough description of the SI system of units and a description of methods of expressing degree of uncertainty in measurements. An excellent reference site.
This collection of laws, rules constants and definitions of concept in physics, compiled by Erik Max Francis, includes a number of interest in physical chemistry, e.g. the gas laws, Rydberg formula, etc.
WebElements is a hypertext-linked collection of property data on the first 112 elements (and some beyond) including (where available): general, chemical, physical, nuclear, electronic, biological, geological, crystallographic, reduction potential, isotopic abundances, electronic configurations, ionization enthalpy data and additional textual information, especially on the history of the elements.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 30 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 470 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
The electronic version of the current edition of the Merck Index contains a diverse collection of over 11,500 short articles. More than 4,000 articles are devoted to a wide variety of drugs and pharmaceuticals, over 2,000 describe common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, and another 2,000 cover naturally occurring substances and plants. An additional 1,000 articles focus on the elements and on inorganic chemicals. Almost 1,000 pertain to compounds of agricultural significance, and several hundred describe endogenous substances and biological agents. Most include basic physical properties, toxicity information and references to syntheses and uses. There are also tables of named reactions in chemistry and other useful information. The Merck Index may be searched by chemical name, properties and by chemical structure or substructure.
Date Coverage: Current
Materials Indexed: Technical Data
Wikipedia has a project dedicated to brining quality chemical information to the online collaborative encyclopedia. You can follow links from the portal, or search by chemical name in the regular Wikipedia search box. For common chemicals (some 1000 substances), you can also search by name, synonym or CAS Registry number at Common Chemistry (http://www.commonchemistry.org/), a cooperative project of Wikipedia and Chemical Abstracts Service. Wikipedia articles on chemical substances typically have basic physical property data, but availability varies by substance.
Physical Properties of Chemicals: Intermediate Sources
CHEMnetBASE is an electronic collection of several major reference works for chemistry and related sciences from Chapman and Hall/CRC Press. Each work is searchable separately. They include:
Combined Chemical Dictionary, consisting of:Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
* Dictionary of Natural Products
* Dictionary of Organic Compounds
* Dictionary of Drugs
* Dictionary of Analytical Reagents
Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Polymers: A Property Database
Properties of Organic Compounds
The Combined Chemical Dictionary is fully sub-structure searchable as is Properties of Organic Compounds. (Note: Structure searching requires a free browser plug-in, which may not yet be installed on UCSB Library workstations.) The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics and Polymers, A Property Database are fully searchable and offer the ability to produce tables customized to the user's preferences.
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Technical Data
The Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a wide-ranging, authoritative source of information on chemicals and chemical processes, with detailed references for each article. The online version includes the current Fourth Edition, with some articles updated each year.
Date Coverage: Current
Materials Indexed: Essays; Technical Data
Knovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, materials and biotechnology), chemistry and biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences among other areas. You may search within a particular work, or across the entire Knovel collection. Searching may be done by keyword, or by numeric data ranges.
Materials Indexed: Books; Technical Data
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds
Call Number: QD257.7 .C73 1985
Publication Date: 1996-09-30
Alphabetical listing of organic compounds. Beilstein and CAS numbers are given for each compound. Spectra references and structural formulas are listed in separate sections. Miscellaneous indexes.
Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals by Philip H. Howard; William M. Meylan
Call Number: Reference ; QD257.7 .H374 1997
Publication Date: 1996-12-27
If your work requires that you understand environmentally important properties of chemicals, then this databook will make your job easier. By providing you with easily accessed information on the structure and physical/chemical properties of more than 13,000 environmentally important chemicals, Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals simplifies the task of locating and analyzing common and obscure compounds alike. One best experimental value is selected or an estimated value provided for: Melting point Boiling point Water solubility Octanol/water partition coefficient (log) Vapor pressure Disassociation constant Henry's law constant. These physical properties were identified from Syracuse Research Corporation's Environmental Fate Database, particularly from the DATALOG and CHEMFATE files.
The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has merged with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC). EIBC incorporates all existing articles from both the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins, and will be updated.
This site, from the National Institute of Materials and Chemical Research in Japan, contains full spectra and, in many cases, peak assignments for 34,600 compounds, including about 25,000 mass spectra, 14,200 13C NMR, 15,900 proton NMR, 54,100 IR, 3,500 Raman and 2,000 ESR spectra. The database is searchable by compound name, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula and NMR, IR or MS peaks. The database is free to the public, but users are asked to download no more than 50 spectra per day without specific permission of the site owners.
SpectraBase is a freely available collection of spectra, covering hundreds of thousands of organic, organometallic and inorganic compounds. Spectra include proton NMR, heteronuclear NMR, FTIR, transmission IR, Raman, UV-VIS and mass spectra, plus basic property data, though not all spectra types are available for all compounds. Peak assignments are available for NMR spectra. The collection may be searched by chemical name, CAS Registry Number or InChi key. Only one spectrum may be displayed at a time. Note that (free( registration is required, and there are frequent advertisements displayed for the database producer, Bio-Rad.
his newly updated eleventh edition includes a fully searchable and sort-able interactive table. Containing over 26,000 materials Sax's interactive table includes material/substance name, molecular formula, CAS registry number, DOT number, molecular weight Sax hazard rating and boiling point, melting point and flash point (when available). Links to synonym lists and original volume text complete this comprehensive interactive addition.
Now in its Twelfth Edition, this book provides extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances, with the addition of nearly 2,400 new substances. Each entry includes a DPIM code, hazard rating, entry name, CAS number, DOT number, molecular formula, molecular weight, line structural formula, description of material and physical properties, and synonyms. The book also contains Immediately Dangerous to Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals.
Hazardous Substances Resource Guide by Richard P. Pohanish; Stanley A. Greene
Call Number: Reference ; T55.3.H3 H444 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
This US resource guide provides concerned citizens with a on approximately 1500 chemical hazardous materials, found in the home, workplace and community, including what they are; there effects on human health, the laws controlling their use, proper handling, and resources for more in-depth study, political action and networking.
Correlating chemical structure with toxicity to humans and the environment, and the chemical structure of compounds to their hazardous properties, A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, Third Edition allows users to assess the toxicity of a substance even when no experimental data exists. Thus, it bridges the gap between hazardous materials and chemistry. Extensively updated and expanded, this reference:
Examines organics, metals and inorganics, industrial solvents, common gases, particulates, explosives, and radioactive substances, covering everything from toxicity and carcinogenicity to flammability and explosive reactivity to handling and disposal practices
Arranges hazardous chemical substances according to their chemical structures and functional groups for easy reference
Includes updated information on the toxic, flammable, and explosive properties of chemical substances
Covers additional metals in the chapters on toxic and reactive metals
Updates the threshold exposure limits in the workplace air for a number of substances
Features the latest information on industrial solvents and toxic and flammable gases
Includes numerous tables, formulas, and a glossary for quick reference
ATSDR'S (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry - U.S. Public Health Service) Toxicological Profiles contain over 40,000 pages of toxicological information on over 150 compounds. Rigorously peer-reviewed, this work covers the toxicological effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds. Each profile includes an examination, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological data evaluations on the hazardous substance. The tables are browsable by table of contents, or keyword searchable, either individually or combined.
Date Coverage: Current information
Materials Indexed: Technical Data