Subject Guide
FAQs, Chat, Email Form, and Research Consultation Appointments.
UCSB Library Information
(805) 893-2478
Need Research Help?
Types of News Media
Newspapers are a part of the larger news media landscape. Different news outlets have different audiences and a different ratio of news to editorial content. Each news outlet has some degree of bias. Use the interactive Media Bias Chart, or see if you can find the news source you're interested in using the static chart below.
Learn more about the creation of this bias chart from this 4-minute video.
NOTE: All writing has some inherit bias associated with the creation and discemination of information. Bias does not mean you should immediately dismiss works from a specific resource, but in research you should consider having an even distribution of bias when presenting materials and supporting arguments.
PDF of this chart available from Ad Fontes Media Website.
Most Recommended for News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.
- Los Angeles Times - Current (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)
- New York Times - Current (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
- Wall Street Journal - Current (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
UCSB LIBRARY CATALOG
Google News
Use Google to find news resources on the web. You can create a Google Alerts page for topics in the news you're interested in following, find recent stories from a variety of sources, and find very recent news releases that have not come into the library's databases.