Subject Guide
Chuck Huber
he/him/his
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website
Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the UC Library Search. As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. For a particular chemical substance (e.g. beryllium, amphetamines, ivory) or a class of substances (drugs, metals, pesticides) or a particular environment (water, soil, blood), combine your key term and the term "analysis".
Examples: blood analysis, pesticides analysis. Your results will include books, articles, reference entries and more. Use the "Refine my search" options on the left-hand side of the results display to limit results to the type of materials desired.
If you find a relevant record, check its subject headings to see if there is alternative terminology you should try. Similarly, use keyword searches to find books on particular analytical methods (mass spectrometry, atomic absorption). You may also want to browse in the book stacks. Books on analytical chemistry methods are grouped together in the range QD 75 - QD 139. Organic analysis may also be found at QD 271-272
General Overview Works
Comprehensive Desk Reference of Polymer Characterization and Analysis by Call Number: Reference ; QD139.P6 C66 2002ISBN: 9780841236653Publication Date: 2003-10-16
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis, 4th ed. by ISBN: 9781315109466Publication Date: 2020-07-30
Dean's Analytical Chemistry Handbook by Call Number: QD 78 .P37 2004ISBN: 9780071410601Publication Date: 2004-06-14
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by Call Number: QD 71.5 .E52 2000ISBN: 9780471976707Publication Date: 2000-12-19
Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 9781315118024Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Handbook of Food Analysis Volume 1: Physical Characterization and Nutrient Analysis by ISBN: 9780429182488Publication Date: 2004
Handbook of Food Analysis Volume 2: Residues and Other Food Component Analysis by ISBN: 9780429175947Publication Date: 2004
Handbook of Food Analysis Volume 3 Methods, Instruments and Applications by ISBN: 9780429182495Publication Date: 2004
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new windowas good overview articles on both substances and analytical techniques. The Fourth Edition (started 1991) is now complete but the Third Edition (began 1978) may have some articles omitted in the later edition.
- Knovel.com This link opens in a new windowKnovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, materials and biotechnology), chemistry and biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences among other areas. You may search within a particular work, or across the entire Knovel collection. Searching may be done by keyword, or by numeric data ranges.
- Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new windowVolume B5 and part of B6 in this series are Has some very recent, solid overview articles devoted to analytical methods, with good references. See Volumes B5 and part of B6 in the print version.
Specific Anayltical Methods
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 9780128032244Publication Date: 2016-10-26
Standard Analytical Methods
Locating Articles
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowNew user? -- The first time you use this database you need to register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to access registration information.
Already have a SciFinder account?: Your UCSB SciFinder username and password will also work for SciFinder-n. Note that your saved searches and Keep Me Posted alerts in SciFinder will not automatically transfer to SciFindern and vice versa. You may need to recreate them.
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited.
Database Information: (Note - the SciFinder-n interface is significantly different from the SciFinder interface, and may require practice for effective use even by experienced SciFinder users.)
SciFinder-n provides user friendly interfaces for searching bto the Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area.
It also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature. - Analytical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAnalytical Abstracts is the Royal Society of Chemistry's specialized database for searching the literature of chemical analysis. It features separate search fields for analytes (such as drugs, food additives, pesticides, nanoparticles), matrices (such as blood, soil, alloys) and techniques (such as HPLC, mass spectra, fluorescence).
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThe BIOSIS database indexes the biological sciences literature and is also very useful for finding articles on analysis in biological systems. Try the combination analytical method "substance" "material"; example: analytical method lead hair.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed (known in other forms as MEDLINE) indexes the world's medical literature, and as such is useful for finding articles on analysis in biological systems. Try the combination of keywords: analysis "substance" "material"; example: analysis amphetamine urine. PubMed covers 1966-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Science Citation Index database in Web of Sciencethe most cited journals in all areas of science. It covers 1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference on an analytical method forward to more recent applications or to other related records.