Race & Ethnicity in History
Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
Encyclopedia of race and ethnic studies.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
London; New York: Routledge, 2004.
Encyclopedia of race and racism.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications, 2008.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015.
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Race & Ethnicity):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Indexes primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all topics pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences). - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Black Studies Center (BSC) combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies:The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) - a widely read and influential black newspaper which features local, national and international coverage & commentary on events of import to the Black diaspora.The database includes textand image backfiles.The International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) - includes cover coverage of U.S., African,and Caribbean periodicals. Citations, abstracts and selected full text articles are included.Black Literature Index - provides citations to fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers from 1827-1940.Dissertations file - contains 1000 doctoral dissertations and masters' theses, written from 1970-2004, selected for their relevance to black studies. Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience - a databases of essays on important black studies themes and issues. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Covers art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law as it pertains to Mexican-Americans, as well as other Latino cultures. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century.
A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers, from the digital collections of the New York Public Library.
- African American Communities This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. - African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Our subscription includes access to the following titles:
▪ The Colored American (1837-1840)
▪ Freedom's Journal (1827-1829)
▪ The National Era (1847-1860)
▪ The North Star (1847-1851)
▪ Weekly Advocate - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries, featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Ripley, C. Peter. The Black abolitionist papers.
Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1985-1992.
- Black Studies E449 .B624 1985 v.1-4
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
The New York Public Library's Schomburg Center is one of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries.
University of Wisconsin, Madison: On-Line Data Archive.
An archive of raw data and documentation on selected aspects of the history of the transatlantic slave trade that is downloadable, with free registration.
Slave Voyages project.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database: Records of voyages of slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866, drawn from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. Intra-American Slave Trade Database: Information on approximately 10,000 slave voyages within the Americas. African Names Database: Provides personal details of 91,491 Africans taken from captured slave ships or from African trading sites.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Gateway to digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.
- History: Asian American: Primary Sources: South & Southeast AsianLists of collections of primary sources, from the University of Washington.