Religion, Cultures & Society in History
Encyclopedia of Religion.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2005.
- Also available in print at Ref BL31 .E46 2005 v.1-15
Historical dictionary of Anglicanism.
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
- Ref BX5007 .B83 2015
Historical dictionary of Buddhism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2009.
- Ref BQ130 .O47 2009
Historical dictionary of Calvinism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
- Ref. BX9406 .P53 2012
Historical dictionary of Catholicism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
- Ref BX945.3 .C65 2012
Historical Dictionary of Daoism.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2020.
Historical Dictionary of Islam.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.
Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalism.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2017.
Historical dictionary of Hinduism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2011.
- Ref BL1105 .S847 2011
Historical Dictionary of Jainism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
- Ref BL1303 .W45 2004
Historical Dictionary of Jehovah's Witnesses.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2019.
Historical dictionary of Lutheranism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2011.
- Ref. BX8007 .G37 2011
Historical dictionary of Methodism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2013.
- Ref. BX8211 .H57 2013
Historical dictionary of Mormonism.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2008.
- Ref. BX8605.5 .B558 2008
Historical dictionary of new religious movements.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
- Ref. BP601 .C47 2012
Historical dictionary of radical Christianity.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
- Ref. BR95 .B68 2012
Historical dictionary of Seventh-Day Adventists.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2005.
- Ref BX6153 .L36 2005
Historical dictionary of Shamanism.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.
Historical dictionary of Shinto.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2011.
- Ref. BL2216.1 .P53 2011
Historical dictionary of Sikhism.
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.
- Ref BL2017.3 .M35 2014
Historical dictionary of Sufism.
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2016.
- Ref BP188.48 .R46 2016
Historical dictionary of the Bahá'í Faith.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 1998.
- Ref. BP327 .A33 1998
Historical dictionary of the Baptists.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2009.
- Ref. BX6211 .B73 2009
Historical dictionary of the Coptic Church.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2008.
- Ref. BX130.5 .G33 2008
Historical dictionary of the Friends (Quakers).
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
- Ref BX7611 .H57 2012
Historical Dictionary of the Latter-Day Saints.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield, 2019.
Historical dictionary of the Orthodox Church.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
- Ref. BX230 .P76 1996
Historical dictionary of the Puritans.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
- Ref. BX9323 .P37 2007
Historical dictionary of the Reformed Churches.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2010.
- Ref. BX9415 .B46 2010
Historical dictionary of the Shakers.
Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 2008.
- Ref. BX9765 .P38 2008
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides scholarly, peer-reviewed essays about the world’s many religions and topics of research and debate. New entries are added monthly.
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Religion, Cultures & Society):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Supports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A database that focuses on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, from the University of London's School of Oriental and African Studies. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Global Missions and Theology This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches, 1800-1899. - Religions of America This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Paying close attention to America’s unique role as a birthplace for new religious movements, especially after World War II, this collection includes materials from a variety of sources in an efforts to capture the varieties of the American religious experience. Covers 1823-2004. - Buddhist Digital Archives This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Tibetan literature on religious and secular topics.
The Cambridge History of Christianity:
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006-2009
v.1 Origins to Constantine.
- Main Library BR165 .O66 2006
v.2 Constantine to c.600.
- Main Library BR200 .C66 2007
v.3 Early Medieval Christianities, c.600–c.1100.
- Main Library BR252 .E27 2008
v.4 Christianity in Western Europe, c.1100–c.1500.
- Main Library BR252 .C475 2009
v.5 Eastern Christianity.
- Main Library BX290 .E27 2006
v.6 Reform and Expansion 1500–1660.
- Main Library BR305.3 .R44 2007
v.7 Enlightenment, Reawakening and Revolution 1660–1815.
- Main Library B802 .E5455 2006
v.8 World Christianities c.1815–c.1914.
- Main Library BR477 .W87 2006
v.9 World Christianities c.1914–c.2000.
- Main Library BR145.2 .W68 2006
The Cambridge history of Judaism.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984.
- Main Library BM155.2 .C35 1984 v.1-4
- Contents: v.1 The Persian period. v.2 The Hellenistic age. v.3 The early Roman period. v.4 The late Roman-Rabbinic period.
Singh, Khushwant. A history of the Sikhs.
New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2004.
- Main Library DS485.P3 K58 2004 v.1-2
Harvey, Peter. An introduction to Buddhism: teachings, history and practices. 2nd. ed.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2013.
- Main Library BQ4022 .H37 2013
Brekke, Torkel. Modern Hinduism.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2019.
- Main Library BL1150 .M63 2019
The new Cambridge history of Islam.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010.
- Main Library DS35.6 .C3 2010 v.1-6
- Contents: v. 1 The formation of the Islamic world, sixth to eleventh centuries. v. 2 The western Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries. v. 3 The eastern Islamic world, eleventh to eighteenth centuries. v. 4 Islamic cultures and societies to the end of the eighteenth century. v. 5 The Islamic world in the age of Western dominance. v. 6 Muslims and modernity: culture and society since 1800.