English 50: Asian American LiteratureAsAm 118
This is the "Home" page of the "Asian American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Asian American Studies  

This guide is a good place to start in doing research related to Asian American Studies.
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/asianamerican Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tips and Strategies

  • When keyword searching, use key words that best describe your topic.  The objective is to get a small group of relevant records.  People, places themes, characters, time periods, events, types of information (i.e. ethnography) issues and more can be key words.  What words or phrases best describe your topic?
  • For locating primary source material, consider these “subject keywords”: sources, documents, personal narrative, documentary history, archives, manuscripts, correspondence, speech*, oration, statistics, cartoon*, interview*, oral history*.
  • Evaluate your search results.  Click on the title to view the entire reocrd, including chapters and subject headings.  If you don’t see related materials in the top 10-20 items of your search results, reconstruct your search using alternative keywords, synonyms, narrower terms, more terms, etc.  
  • Note the citation/source information (journal title, volume #, issue #, and date) before leaving the database, even if just to go to another window.  The citation is the most important information in the database record and is required to locate the article text, online or in print.
  • Raid bibliographies.  Books and articles have bibliographies and references.  Use them so you don’t have to spend hours database searching.
  • In the library, like materials are shelved together.  When looking for a particular book on the shelf, also scope out what’s shelved next to it.  Books and back issues of periodicals are inter-filed on the shelves in call number order.
  • Consult a librarian. We work across the disciplines, will refer you if necessary, and can help track down sources, explain library services, interpret citations and find the most useful keywords.  The Ask a Librarian service provides 24/7 access to a librarian.
 

Welcome!

This research guide contains print and digital resources to conduct research in the interdisciplinary field of Asian American Studies. This guide also contains information on different racial and ethnic groups under the rubric of Asian Americans and  Pacific Islanders. 

If you need further assistance please contact a librarian at the reference desk.

I can also be reached at colmenar@library.ucsb.edu. 

In the meantime I welcome you to explore this research guide.  Thanks!

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Gary Colmenar
Contact Info
Davidson Library, Room
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893.8067
colmenar@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
 

Copyright © 2008-2014 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip