Public Policy in History
Encyclopedia of American public policy.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
- Ref JK468.P64 J33 1999
Encyclopedia of public administration and public policy.
New York: Facts On File, 2004.
- Ref JK9 .E526 2004
Encyclopedia of U.S. political history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2010.
- Also available in print at Ref E183 .E53 2010 v.1-7
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015.
The Palgrave encyclopedia of interest groups, lobbying and public affairs.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2019.
The Princeton encyclopedia of American political history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Boston, Mass.: Credo Reference, 2016.
- Also available in print at Ref E183 .P85 2010 v.1-2
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Public Policy):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Topic research guide, under the "Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture" tab, the "Empires, Borderlands & their Legacies" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides international coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics and related areas, with citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Journal article citations and abstracts for political science and related disciplines, including international relations, law, public administration and public policy.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
Established in 1999 as a collaboration between Prof. John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara, the American Presidency Project is an important online resource for accessing presidential documents.
Avalon Project. (Yale Law School)
Digital documents (transcripts) relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available, related to the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report (FBIS) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century. The mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.
Foreign relations of the United States. (1861-1958/1960) [375 vols.]
[University of Wisconsin Digital Collections]
- the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity, 1861-1958/1960.
Foreign relations of the United States. (1945-1988)
[U.S. Department of State. Office of the Historian.]
- the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity, 1945-1988.
- Click here to see which volumes of the FRUS series have been published, and which are planned for publication.
- many volumes available in print at Main Library JX233 .A3, 1932-1976.
George Washington University. National Security Archive.
- A library and archive of government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Wilson Center. Digital Archive.
Database of declassified documents from governments and organizations around the world, focused on three project areas: The Cold War International History Project (CWIHP), The North Korea International Documentation Project (NKIDP), and The Nuclear Proliferation International History Project (NPIHP)
The Oxford handbook of American political development.
Oxford; New York, NY: Oxford UP, 2016.
- Main Library JK31 .O94 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Modern British Political History, 1800-2000.
Oxford: Oxford UP, 2018.
- Main Library JN216 .O94 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy.
Oxford; New York: Oxford UP, 2006.
- Main Library H97 .O88 2006