Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture in History
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005.
- Also available in print at Ref GT507 .E53 2005 v.1-3
Handbook of material culture.
London; Thousand Oaks: SAGE, 2006.
- Main Library GN406 .H36 2006
Material culture: critical concepts in the social sciences.
London; New York: Routledge, 2004.
- Main Library GN406 .M3492 2004 5v.
The Oxford encyclopedia of economic history.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
- Ref HC15 .O94 2003 v.1-5
The Oxford handbook of material culture studies.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
- Main Library GN406 .O946 2010
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Commerce, Commodities & Material Culture):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
EconLit is the fundamental research tool in economics.
- To find articles on the history of economic topics, try a search using a keyword (word Anywhere) that describes your topic, and the subject word (All subjects & indexing - SU) "history." - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Ad*AccessDuke University Libraries' repository of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- American Consumer Culture: Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. - Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Digital resources for the history of and interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress.
- Culinary Institute of America's Menu Collection.30,000 historical menus that illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad, with menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.
- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture.The University of Wisconsin-Madison's Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture collects and creates electronic resources for study and research of the decorative arts, with a particular focus on Early America. Included are electronic texts and journals, image databases, and information on organizations, museums and research facilities.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920.Duke University Libraries' collection of over 3,300 items relating to the early history of advertising in the United States, dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A database of original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 held in libraries and archives around the world. - Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Primary materials related to the history of global commodities, trade and transformations of societies in Africa, Americas, and Asia since the 15th Century. The collection focuses on fifteen commodities - chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
- HEARTH. (Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History)Cornell University's electronic collection of core books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines published between 1850 and 1950.
- Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.
Medicine and Madison Avenue.
Digital collection that explores the relationship between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," through health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from the 1910s through the 1950s. From Duke University.
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900.[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Documents the history of ‘popular’ remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials drawn from the extensive collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. From Adam Matthew.
- Trade Catalogues & the American Home This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A visual record of a variety of products and facilitate research into popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology. - Women’s Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowLeading women's interest consumer magazines, from the late-19th century through to 2005. Includes canonical magazines like Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman’s Day, as well as titles that focus on the changing role of women, such as Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence.
- World's Fairs This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.
The Oxford handbook of history and material culture.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
- Main Library GN406 .O94 2020