Gender & Sexualities in History
A dictionary of gender studies.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017.
Encyclopedia of gender and society.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2009.
Encyclopedia of sex and gender.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007.
Encyclopedia of sexuality and gender.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Cham: Springer, 2019.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
The international encyclopedia of human sexuality.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Chichester, West Sussex; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2015.
The Oxford handbook of American women's and gender history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2018.
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Gender & Sexualities):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
- Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A multidisciplinary database that brings together content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), primarily from 1450 to the present. - LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. - Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Includes historical studies and biography. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Women's Studies International (WSI) covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. WSI supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- Defining Gender This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Five centuries of advice literature for men and women, 1450-1919, covering social conduct, power distribution within the family, consumption and leisure, education of men and women and gendered perceptions of the body.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineProvides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
- Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Provides access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Includes images, monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. - Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. - Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
In 1830, in Philadelphia, Louis Antoine Godey (1804-1878) commenced the publication of Godey's Lady's Book which he designed specifically to attract the growing audience of American women. The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. - HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912. - LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Contains key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes materials ranging from seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights to memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters; from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950.
- Voices of Feminism Oral History ProjectDocuments the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. From Smith College Libraries.
- Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Published and primary sources related to the history of women in social movements around the world, 1840 to present. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2023 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Women and Social Movements is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000. - Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Leading women's interest consumer magazines from the late-19th century through to 2005. Titles include:
▪ Better Homes and Gardens (1922-2005)
▪ Cosmopolitan (1886-2005)
▪ Good Housekeeping (1885-2005)
▪ Ladies’ Home Journal (1885-2005)
▪ Parents (1926-2005)
▪ Redbook (1903-2005)
▪ Seventeen (1944-2005)
▪ Town & Country (1846-2005)
▪ Woman’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women Working, 1800-1930.Harvard University Library's digital collection of over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs that document women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
- History: Women: Primary SourcesLists of collections of primary sources, from the University of Washington.
Links and citations to additional sources of information on the history of gender & sexualities might be found on the UCSB Library research guides for:
• Feminist Studies
• Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Questioning Studies