Empires, Borderlands & Their Legacies in History
The Ashgate research companion to modern imperial histories.
Farnham, Surrey; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, c2012.
- Main Library JC359 .A72 2012
The Oxford Handbook of the Ends of Empire.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
- Main Library JV151 .O94 2018
The Palgrave encyclopedia of imperialism and anti-imperialism.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Cham, Switzerland: Springer Nature, 2019.
- Also available at Ref JC359 .P35 2016
The Palgrave handbook of African colonial and postcolonial history.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.
The postcolonial studies dictionary.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Hoboken: Wiley, 2015.
The Routledge companion to decolonization.
London; New York: Routledge, 2006.
- Main Library D840 .R59 2006
Additional Reference Sources for World History by Topic (Empires, Borderlands & Their Legacies):
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the United States History research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History (generally) research guide, under the "Reference Sources" → "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" tab.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Period research guide, under the "Prehistory & Ancient" tab, the "Medieval History" tab, etc.
Additional encyclopedias are listed on the World History by Region research guide, under the "Africa" tab, the "Asia" tab, etc.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
Primary sources provide immediate, firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an event or topic.
Examples of primary sources include letters and diaries; photographs, audio and motion picture recordings; transcribed speeches; books, newspapers and magazines published during the period under consideration; government documents and other publications; oral histories, autobiographies and memoirs; and even artifacts, like clothing, furniture, and other items of material culture from the period.
- The British Library. Archives and Manuscripts catalogue.A hugely rich resource, with material dating from ancient to modern times. See especially its India Office Records: the archives of the East India Company (1600-1858), the Board of Control or Board of Commissioners for the Affairs of India (1784-1858), the India Office (1858-1947), the Burma Office (1937-1948), and a number of related British agencies overseas.
- East India Company This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
From 16th-century origins as a trading venture to the East Indies, through to its rise as the world’s most powerful company and de facto ruler of India, to its demise amid allegations of greed and corruption – the East India Company was an extraordinary force in global history for three centuries. This digital resource allows students and researchers to access a vast and remarkable collection of primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library, the single most important archive for the study of the East India Company. - Empire Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 - 2007 sourced from libraries and archives around the world. This project has been developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents. By using images of the texts rather than transcriptions, Empire Online enables students to connect with the past with greater immediacy. Each Section features thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. The essays relate directly to the source material covered by the online publication with 30-50 hypertext links per essay to documentary evidence.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Primary source documents from the edges of the anglophone world, 1650-1920. Discover European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. From Adam Matthew.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowGlobal Commodities contains primary materials related to the history of global commodities, trade and transformations of societies. Some features of the collection include the exploration and exploitation of raw materials in Africa, Americas, and Asia since the 15th Century, development of major ports, historical documents on the origins, transportation, consumption and impact of commodities on societies. The collection focuses on fifteen commodities - chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. The database includes data visualizations and interactive maps as well as, art, images, and commodity exhibitions.
The Oxford Handbook of the Ends of Empire.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
- Main Library JV151 .O94 2018