Reference Sources
This page lists encyclopedias and dictionaries that cover the discipline of political science generally.
An encyclopedia article or dictionary entry can give you a broad overview of your topic.
Articles like these can help you to identify key concepts, to define key terms, and to discover who has done important work on your topic.
They often also include bibliographies to guide your further reading.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by Call Number: Main Ref JA61 .B43 1999 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0631206949Publication Date: 1999
Concise Oxford dictionary of politics by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 0192545841Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by Call Number: Access Online & Main Ref JA61 .E513 2011 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9781933116440Publication Date: 2013 (Online) & 2010 (Print)
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by Call Number: Access Online & Main Ref H41 .I58 2001 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0080430767Publication Date: 2015 (Online) & 2001 (Print)
The Oxford Handbook of Political Psychology by Call Number: Main Library JA74.5 .O94 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199760107Publication Date: 2013
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movements by Call Number: Access OnlinePublication Date: 2013
See also topical encyclopedias & dictionaries under other tabs on this research guide.
An article in a political science handbook or guide can provide an extensive introduction to a wide range of topics.
Look here for chapter-length overviews of your topic, for a more in-depth introduction to the concepts, terms, and work done on your topic. These articles can also include bibliographies to guide your further reading.
Political handbook of the world.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1975-
- Information and data on countries and territories of the world, including government bodies, major and minor political parties, and political history, plus profiles of intergovernmental organizations.
- Current issue only, Ref JF37 .P762
21st Century Political Science: a Reference Handbook by Call Number: Main Ref JA66 .A21 2011 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9781412969017Publication Date: 2010
The International Handbook of Labour Unions by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780857938053Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Development by Call Number: Main Library JK31 .O94 2016 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0199697914Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of American Political History by Call Number: Main Library E183 .O84 2020 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199341788Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of International Political Theory by Call Number: Main Library JZ1305 .O96 2018 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 019874692XPublication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Political Behavior by Call Number: Main Library JA74.5 .O93 2007 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199270125Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Political Ideologies by Call Number: Main Library JA83 .O94 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199585977Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Political Institutions by Call Number: Main Library JF51 .O95 2008 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199548460Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Political Leadership by Call Number: Main Library JC330.3 .O94 2014 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199653881Publication Date: 2014- The Oxford Handbook of Political Psychology by Call Number: Main Library JA74.5 .O94 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199760107Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Political Science by Call Number: Main Ref JA66 .O97 2009 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780199562954Publication Date: 2009
Oxford handbook of transformations of the state by Call Number: Main Library JC131 .O94 2015 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0199691584Publication Date: 2015
The Palgrave Handbook of Anarchism by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 3319756206Publication Date: 2019
The Routledge Handbook of Biopolitics by Call Number: Main Library JA80 .R68 2017 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781472449641Publication Date: 2017
Routledge handbook of Internet politics by Call Number: Main Library HM851 .R6795 2009 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780415429146Publication Date: 2009
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Politics by Call Number: Main Library P119.3 .R68 2018 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781138779167Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE Handbook of Political Geography by Call Number: Main Library JC319 .S235 2008 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780761943273Publication Date: 2008
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Geography by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1118725875Publication Date: 2015
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Political Sociology by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1444355090Publication Date: 2012
American Political Leaders 1789-2009Call Number: Main Ref E176 .A513 2010 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9781604265378Publication Date: 2010
A Dictionary of Political Biography by Call Number: Access Online & Main Library D412 .D53 1998 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0192800353Publication Date: 2013 (Online) & 1998 (Print)
- Central Intelligence AgencyThe CIA's online directory of world leaders
- Gale in Context: BiographyGale in Context Biography (formerly known as Biography in Conext and Biography Resource Center) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines over 600,000 biographies from over 170 sources, with over one million entries from the Complete Marquis Who's Who®.
- Annual Review of Political ScienceThe Annual Review of Political Science, in publication since 1998, covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
- The Europa world year bookPolitical, demographic and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories around the world. For each country entry, information on the recent history, economic affairs, government, judicial systems, political organizations, etc.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2020 The Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1349959405Publication Date: 2020
The Statesman's Yearbook Companion The Leaders, Events and Cities of the World by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1349958395Publication Date: 2019
The Statesman's Yearbook 2019 The Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1349953210Publication Date: 2019
