Victor V Phonograph, ca. 1907. Photo by Norman Bruderhofer. Used under a Creative Common Share Alike 2.5 license.
except as indicated
Listening / Viewing Databases
National Jukebox (freely accessible)
UCSB Cylinder Project (freely accessible)
Full Text Databases
Encyclopedias
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Music of India
Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music)
History
Oxford History of Western Music
Article Databases
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Directory of Online Resources
The Chicago Manual of Style Online by Click the title link below to access the full text.
Welcome to UCSB Music Library, located in the Music Building. This guide is intended to help you find materials for the study of music and provide information about the library. To get started, try the Quick Links in the box on the lower left or click on the tabs above. If you are off campus, don't forget to log in to use items available to UCSB faculty and students only. For interdisciplinary approaches to the study of music, you may find it helpful to check other UCSB library guides for materials relevant to your research.
Check the New Books Shelf in the music library to see these and other recently added titles. You may check out books and scores from the New Books Shelf.
The Big Note: a Guide to the Recordings of Frank Zappa by 
Claude Debussy by 
Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison by 
The Last Opera by 
The Messenger by 
Music Money and Success by 
Opera after the Zero Hour by 
Peggy Glanville-Hicks by 
The Recordings of Andy Kirk and His Clouds of Joy by 
Sex, Death, and Minuets by 
Sounding Roman by 
Word, Chant, and Song by 
Click here for up-to-date Music Library hours.
You can also find a PDF with current hours at the bottom of that page. Scroll down for Music Library hours.