Music: Websites

Over 1,000 arias and ensembles, indexed by title, opera, language, composer, voice type, range, keyword, and whether there is a translation or text available. The database includes the complete operatic arias of Berlioz, Mozart, Puccini, Verdi, and Wagner, as well as selections by more than 40 other composers. There is also a database of opera characters.

A database of songs licensed by ASCAP in the United States. Entries includes names of songwriters and contact information for publishers, as well as artists who have recorded the song commercially.

Free, up-to-date, and very extensive bibliography of J.S. Bach research contributed by Yo Tomita and about 80 other scholars. Review citations are included.

Search for currently available and out-of-print classical recordings and videos in all formats. Search by format, label, distributor, and availability in addition to composer, performer, title, etc.

From the Princeton University Library, a project to create an open access, searchable digital repository of rare 19th and early 20-century periodicals in music, art, and literature that document the emergence of cultural modernity in the West.

BMI's catalog of millions of musical works along with names of songwriters, composers, and publishers. Search by title, artist, composer/songwriter, or publisher.

Browsable, searchable database of contemporary composers. Many entries include biographical and bibliographical information, a portrait, and a detailed work list.

Contains more than 180,000 song titles (mostly popular music) from over 2,000 collections.

An index of chants in selected manuscripts and early printed sources of the Divine Office. The site includes a table of feast names in Latin and English. Currently maintained at the University of Western Ontario.

A database that provides descriptions of concert programme collections held by leading libraries, archives, and museums in the UK and Ireland. Serves as a guide to finding concert program collections. Each collection is described and indexed. Institutions include the British Library, Royal College of Music, and the Bodleian Library, Oxford.

A portal for global access to European electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

Includes records for in-progress and completed dissertations in musicology reported since 1995, as well as the contents of all printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology. Search by author or keyword, or browse by subject. The site includes an online registration form for reporting a dissertation topic or completed document.

Online version of The Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music (1998). Around 4,000 entries on artists and groups, as well as songwriters, producers, and record labels. Also topical entries on genres. Includes Latin American, Cajun, Zydeco, Tex-Mex, etc.

An index to master recordings and published discs made by the Victor Talking Machine Company beginning in 1900.

A database of about 4,000 recordings, primarily LPs. Search by keyword or browse by title, performer, or publisher. Nearly 39,000 song and tune titles are included, some of which are cross reference to alternate titles. Provides song and tune IDs from standard reference works including Child, Laws, and Sharp.

From the Oberlin College Libraries and Sing Out!, an index of over 2,000 anthologies of traditional songs, mostly English-language, with nearly 43,000 entries.

Annotated thematic catalog of all known works of Frescobaldi, including doubtful and mistakenly attributed works. Excerpts of over 800 compositions. Lists original sources, modern editions, and scholarly literature.

Contains full text of reviews from every issue of Gramophone magazine since it was first published in 1923. Searchable and browsable. Registration required, but the site is free.

A searchable database to the Hofmeister Monatsberichte (monthly catalogs), 1829-1900, published by Friedrich Hofmeister. The catalogs are a detailed source of information about music publication in the nineteenth century, especially in German-language areas.

Indexes all hymns printed with English texts up to 1820. Search by tune, text, source, and composer.

A database of over ten thousand art-song and part-song texts, many of which include literal translations in English and over twenty other languages. Indexed by composer, poet, language, composer title, first line, and songs in English or English translation (title and first line). The search engine searches only the texts, not the translations.

The full record of the activities of the Metropolitan Opera. This searchable database contains comprehensive information on all Met performances and performers, both in-house and on tour, up to the latest night's offering.

The e-book section of the Online Bibliography links to over 150 freely available online music books and reference works.

Fundamentals of pitch and major scales and keys. From TEC Music Theory Resources, other modules, including rhythm, minor scales and keys, intervals, triads, etc. are available also.

An international index of several hundred music theory dissertations, mostly from the 1990s and later. Many of the foreign dissertations are not indexed in Dissertations and Theses. Includes a form for submitting dissertation information to the index.

An open music database and search engine for finding and identifying melodies. Includes popular and classical music.

Updated daily. Maintained by the staff of the Gaylord Music Library at Washington University in St. Louis. Information is gathered from the current music press. Coverage: 1991 to present.

A database of opera performances worldwide in over 600 theaters since 1996. Searchable by keyword (name, city, company) and browseable alphabetically (with numerous display options) or via clickable maps. Entries feature full details on each house, including contact and booking information, accessibility, neighboring venues, a link to the house's Web site, and details on current, past, and future seasons.

A free online tool that allows the user to create parts from pdf scores, such as those available from IMSLP.

Extensive searchable bibliographic database of printed editions of European sacred music in the 16th and 17th centuries.

Search ten of thousands of classical, folk, and Renaissance musical themes by pitch, interval, scale degree, or contour. Search beginnings or within the theme.

Indexes program notes and descriptive literature on musical compositions from books in LC classes MT90 - MT145. The call numbers included in citations are those of the Univ. of Tennessee music library, so when you find a relevant citation, search in the UC Library Search to find the call number of the book in the UCSB Library.

An index to ca. 50,000 songs in collections owned by the music library of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Search by title, first line, song type, accompaniment type, composer, author, language, geographical/ethnic source, and other parameters. Check the UC Library Search to find out whether a specific collection is held by the UCSB Library.

From Stanford University Libraries.

Provides standard licenses for sharing your intellectual property.

UC's official copyright website. Contains information on the UC Copyright Ownership Policy and more.