Finding Articles
Find articles, citations, and more in these indexes and databases:
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to articles and reviews from over 875 scholarly, professional, and general music journals, back to the start of the 20th century.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. Contains over 550,000 records on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of conference proceedings goes back to 1835.
- Music Periodicals Database (MPD) This link opens in a new windowCitations for several hundred music periodicals as well as full-text access for recent years of approximately 140 titles. Many journals are indexed for their full run, but limited subject headings and no abstracts for citations earlier than 1996. Search this database together with Performing Arts Database using Music and Performing Arts Online.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new windowRIPM indexes music journal literature from the late 18th century through the early 20th. Citations include extensive editorial commentary contributed by music scholars. Journals are indexed through their complete runs.
- RISM Musical Manuscripts after 1600 This link opens in a new windowThe most extensive bibliographic database available for music manuscripts dating from the seventeenth century and later. Includes entries for over 600,000 works by 20,000 composers. The manuscripts are found in over 750 libraries and archives in 32 countries. May also be searched via Themefinder (manuscripts in U.S. collections only).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database. Provides citations and abstracts for over 10,000 journals, including 186 music titles. Also contains full-text access for over 5,000 journals, including over 100 music titles, mostly since 2000.
- RISM UK CatalogueDetailed catalog records for 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts held in repositories in the United Kingdom and Ireland.
- RIdIM DatabaseSearchable database of music iconography, including records for images from all of the visual arts. Subjects include instruments, performers, composers, performance venues, and more. Some records contain links to images.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new windowIndexes dissertations and master's theses from North America and around the world, back to 1861. Abstracts included from 1980 forward for dissertations, from 1988 for theses. Includes online access to UC dissertations from 1997 forward. Over 60,000 new titles added to the databases annually.
- DMS: Dissertationsmeldestelle der Gesellschaft für MusikforschungSearchable database of music dissertations from Germany, Switzerland, and Austria back to 1998.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess to complete full-text articles from back runs of core scholarly journals up to the latest 3-5 years.
- Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums OnlineFreely accessible. Online continuation of the print index, which ceased with the volume covering 1988. Indexes journal articles as well as book chapters, dissertations, proceedings, etc.
- Canadian Music Periodical IndexFreely accessible. An index of over 37,000 articles from Canadian music periodicals from the late 19th century up to the present. 630 music journals, newsletters and magazines are included, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
- RoJaRo IndexFreely accessible. Citations to articles on all genres of popular music from a wide variety of magazines, include many small or ephemeral publications not indexed elsewhere, as well as many from outside the U.S.
- CAIRSS for MusicFreely accessible, searchable database of scholarly periodical literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.
- Music Media MonthlyFreely accessible. Reviews of recordings and music related books, videos, and websites.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for millions of articles in biomedical research, including music therapy, performance arts medicine, music and neuroscience, and music cognition.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association. Citations and abstracts for international research in behavioral sciences going back to the 1890s. Includes literature of all types: articles, books, book chapters, conference, dissertations, etc. Includes research on music therapy, performance psychology, music psychology and cognition, music and emotion, neuroscience of music, and more.
- Digital Commons NetworkA database of open access scholarship in all disciplines.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects. Use to identify open access journal titles. Journals can be browsed by title or by broad subject area. Articles are searchable by article author or title, ISSN, journal title, abstract, or key words. Full-text is not searchable but is fully accessible.
Research Tip: Citations
Found a promising citation for a journal article or book chapter? Be sure to save the citation, since this will save you time later on. Most databases allow you to save, print, and email citations, as well as export them to citation management software.
Need help with citations? Check out the Citations Styles guide: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/citation.
InterLibrary Loan
Request an item directly from UC Library Search or a database (FASTEST service):
- Article Indexes & Research DatabasesLook for "Get it at UC" options