Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCSB Library Catalog Basic Search
Basic search box. Use if you are looking for a specific book. Also useful for finding books on a specific composer, or finding out if UCSB has access to a specific journal.
UCSB Library Catalog Advanced Search
A good way to search for musical works since you can combine composer (Author) and title, as well as limit by format (score, 78-rpm recording, LP, compact disc, video, etc.). You can also search by subject and limit by format. Or, search for specific M numbers.
UC Libraries and beyond - Basic Search (WorldCat)
UCSB faculty and students may request books and scores from other UC campuses, including items held by UCSB but checked out. Items normally arrive in 3-5 days and may be picked up at the UCSB Library. To search other UC campuses, select University of California Libraries from the menu. The combined UC libraries hold over 34 million items so don't over look this option! You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
UC Libraries and beyond - Advanced Search (WorldCat)
Search UC using more complex search options, including limiting your search by format (scores, recording) and more. Select University of California Libraries from the menu. You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB is a way to find books and other materials located in libraries outside the UC System.
The Music Index
Indexes The Clarinet back to 1974 (vol. 1). Contains citations and abstracts for more than 875 scholarly, professional, and general music journals back to the start of the 20th century.
The call number of The Clarinet is ML1 .C787. You will find the latest issue in the reading area of the music library.
To search for articles on any aspect of the clarinet, use the following databases:
Find articles as well as book reviews, dissertations, etc. Limit by language, date. Coverage back to 1967.
Indexes The Clarinet back to 1990 (vol. 17).
Browse for Scores: M
Finding clarinet music
- You can find music for clarinet by simply browsing the shelves in the
music library. In the Library of Congress system, used in academic
libraries, call numbers of scores begin with the letter M, followed by
a number that designates the medium of performance. Important numbers
for clarinet are M72 (solo unaccompanied), M250 (clarinet solo with
keyboard), and M1025 (clarinet concertos, piano reduction). Within most
numbers, scores are in order alphabetically by composer. For example,
to find a piano reduction score of the Mozart clarinet concerto, just look
under M1025 M. More numbers:
- M70 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M71 -- Collections of original works
- M72 -- Separate works, original
- M73 -- Collections of arranged works
- M74 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with piano
- M248 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M249 -- Collections of original works
- M250 -- Separate works, original
- M251 -- Collections of arranged works
- M252 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with full orchestra
- M1024 -- Full scores
- M1025 -- Piano reductions
Solo with string orchestra
- M1124 -- Full scores
- M1125 -- Piano reductions
- M288, 289 -- Two wind instruments
- M317, 417, 517 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) wind instruments
- M322, 422, 522 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) string(s) plus wind(s)
- M357, 457, 557 (etc.) -- Wind trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
- M357.2, 457.2, 557.2 (etc.) -- Woodwind trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
- M1001 -- Symphonies
- M1002 -- Symphonic poems
- M1003 -- Variations, suites
- M1004 -- Overtures
Browse for Books, Methods, etc.: ML and MT
- Call numbers of books begin with ML, and call numbers of instructional materials such as methods, studies, and orchestral excerpts begin with MT. Browse under these numbers to find books and instructional materials for clarinet:
- ML931 -- General books on woodwind instruments
- ML945 -- General books on the history of the clarinet
- ML946 -- Clarinet construction
- ML948 -- Clarinet music and playing
- MT380 -- General instructional works on the clarinet
- MT382 -- Systems and methods
- MT385 -- Studies and exercises
- MT386 -- Orchestral studies
UCSB Library Catalog
Browsing the catalog
You can also browse for scores and books using the library's catalog. In Advanced Search, select the Call Number (LC) option and type one of the M numbers in the search box. From the search shown below, can you tell how many scores of solo unaccompanied clarinet music the library has?
Finding scores and recordings
- To find a specific musical work, in Advanced Search enter the composer and title, and select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:
- To find a work with a generic title, such as a sonata or concerto, enter the composer's name, enter sonatas clarinet (or concertos clarinet, etc.) for the title, and then select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:
- To find out what scores the library has for a particular medium of chamber music, search using specific Subjects in the library catalog. The following search will find scores of clarinet duets.
Try the following subjects for other chamber music combinations:
Music Library Hours
Click here for up-to-date Music Library hours.
You can also find a PDF with current hours at the bottom of that page. Scroll down for Music Library hours.
In the UCSB Library Catalog, search using the following Subject Keywords to find books on the history of the clarinet and its construction and literature. Many (but not all) of the books you'll find with these subject keywords are shelved under the ML numbers shown. The catalog indicates when a book is located in the reference section of the music library, which is just beside the entrance to the book and score area.
(limit to Book)
Instruction and Study
In the UCSB Library Catalog, search using the following Subject Keywords to find clarinet methods, studies, etc. Most (but not all) instructional works with these headings are shelved under the MT classes indicated:
Clarinet Instruction and study
Clarinet Studies and exercises
Clarinet Orchestral excerpts
(limit to Scores)
Listen to Music
Naxos Music Library
Nearly 90,000 CDs, mostly classical music. Hundreds more CDs are added every month.
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies