Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Reference

Reference Online

UCSB only except as indicated

Finding Translations

Finding English Translations of Vocal Music Texts

For singers and others looking for English translations: a very useful guide from the University of Michigan.  The UCSB Music Library holds nearly all of the resources cited here, but check in the UCSB Library Catalog to make sure you have the correct call number.

Reference Books

The books listed below are located in the Music Library (Arts Library, 2d floor). Ref = reference section.

Histories and Handbooks

Cambridge History of Music (series).  Call numbers vary

Musicology: The Key Concepts.  Ref ML3797 .B35 2005

The Oxford History of Western Music.  6 vols.  ML160 .T18 2005 

Popular Music: The Key Concepts.  2d ed.  Ref ML102 .P66 S58 2005

Reader’s Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism. Ref ML100 .R43 1999

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. 6 vols. Ref ML105 .B3 2001

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. 7 vols. Ref ML102 .P66 C66 2003

Dictionary of Musical Themes. Rev. ed. Ref ML128 .I65 B3 1975

Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes. Ref ML128 .V7 B3 1966

Encyclopedia of Popular Music.  4th ed.  10 vols.  Ref ML102 .P66 G84 2006

Encyclopedia of the Blues. 2 vols. 2006. Ref ML102 .B6 E53 2006

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.  10 vols.  Ref ML100 .G16 1998

Harvard Dictionary of Music. 4th  ed. Ref ML100 .H37 2003

New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 vols. Ref ML101 .U6 N48 1986

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.  2nd ed.  3 vols.  Ref ML102 .J3 N48 2002

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.  2nd ed.  29 vols.  Ref ML100 .N48 2001

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. 3 vols. Ref ML102 .I5 N48 1984

New Grove Dictionary of Opera.  4 vols.  Ref ML102 .O6 N5 1992

Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers. Ref ML105 .N67 1995

Oxford Companion to Music.  Ref ML100 .S37 2002

Bibliographies

Analyses of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Music, 1940–2000.  Ref ML113 .H695 2007

Composer Resource Manuals (series). Ref ML134 (call numbers vary)

Ethnomusicology: A Guide to Research. Ref ML128 .E8 P67 2004

Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated Bibliography. Ref ML128 .E8 S4 1992

Green Book of Songs by Subject. 5th ed. 2002. Ref. ML156.4 .P6 G73 2002

Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music 3d ed. 2 vols. Ref ML113 .H52 1980

Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature. Ref ML128 .A7 D5 1991

Music Reference Collection (series). Ref (call numbers vary)

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. Ref ML113 .D83 1997

Resources of American Music History: A Directory of Source Material. Ref ML120 .U5 R47

Routledge Music Bibliographies (series). Ref ML128 or ML134 (call numbers vary)

Speaking of Music: Music Conferences, 1835-1966. Ref ML128 .M8 S68 2004

Research Methods / Writing

How to Write about Music: The RILM Manual of Style. Ref ML3797 .H69  2005

Music Library and Research Skills. Ref ML3797 .G68 2009

Music Research: A Handbook.  Ref ML113 .S28 2009

Sourcebook for Research in Music. 2d ed. Ref ML113 .C88 2005 

Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide. 4th ed. Ref ML3797 .W54 2009

 

Music Library

Profile Photo
Music Library
Contact:
Music Library

library-music@ucsb.edu

Music Library Hours

Click here for up-to-date Music Library hours.

You can also find a PDF with current hours at the bottom of that page. Scroll down for Music Library hours. 


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies