Looking for Streaming Media?
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
The Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall Provides access to live performances of the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as hundreds of concerts recorded over more than 50 years. The site also offers interviews, documentary films, and opera performances.
- medici.tv
Audio-visual collection of classical music with concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films, and artist profiles, available on demand.
- Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand offers users instant access to more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met's award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
- Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Includes content from the African American Music database.
- Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Includes tracks of music from the Middles Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from solo vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Contains a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. Includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. Traditional genres will include Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Liner notes to all the albums are included in PDF format.
- Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains 290 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new windowIncludes Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels and collections.
- National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. Includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives (including the UCSB Library). Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowA rapidly growing database of 50,000 albums and over 700,000 tracks. Most of the collection is classical, but it also includes jazz, world, new age, and some pop and rock. Labels included in addition to Naxos are Chandos, Caprice, Wergo, CPO, Hungaraton, and over 300 more. Free apps are available for the iPhone and Android; for instructions and information go to the Naxos Music Library blog.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
International collection of thousands of jazz albums, as well as blues and R&B. The database includes the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.
- UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive This link opens in a new windowFreely accessible. A digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings. Dating from the early 20th century, they provide a window into society and culture of the period. The recordings may be streamed or freely downloaded. From the Department of Special Collections of the UCSB Library.
Freely Accessible Music
- Archival Sound Recordings - British LibraryFreely accessible. Tens of thousands of recordings from the archival sound recording collections of the British Library. Includes Western classical, world music, popular, and more.
- Belfer Cylinders Digital ConnectionFreely accessible. The Belfer Audio Archive includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique. The digital collection will include 6,000 online audio files by 2010, selected in collaboration with the UCSB Cylinder Project to ensure non-duplication of the two projects.
- Cultural Equity: Sound RecordingsFreely accessible. Over 17,400 digitized audio recordings made by Alan Lomax from 1946 into the 1990s. Includes music from around the world as well as spoken material such as stories, interviews, and personal narratives.