Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Islam

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.

For More Information

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BP 40 E525  2004

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion
   Main Ref  BP 40 E526 2008

New Encyclopedia of Islam
   Main Ref  BP 40 G42  2001

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion
   Main Ref  BP 40 E526 2008

Qur’an: A Modern English Version (trans. Fakhry)
   Main Ref  BP 109 1996

The Coptic Encyclopedia
   Main Ref  BX 130.5.C66 1991

Cultural Sites

Islam for Today

  • This site is written for non-Muslims to gain an understanding about Islam. In an effort to debunk stereotypes, the site contains information about the status of women in Islam

Islam Online

  • A current events and culture site in English and Arabic.

Online Reference Sources

 

Encyclopaedia Iranica

  • Articles on people, places, terms, and topics dealing with Iranian culture
  • NOTE: You will need to download special fonts before you can search.
  • This version offers access to the articles, but not searching. 
  • Print Version: REF DS253.E53 1982

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

  • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Virtual Religion Index

Primary Sources

Historical Text Archive

  • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

  • Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
  • Islamic Texts

The Noble Qur'an

  • MSA, USC
  • Three English translations by Yusuf Ali, Pickthall, and Shakir. Commentary by Maududi

The Noble Quran

  • Arabic text with English translations by Shakir and Yusufali; English commentary by Pooya

Foundation of Iranian Studies Resources

  • Resources include THE CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IRAN (in Persian), Library & Pahlavi Archives, Legal Documents, and the FIS Online Oral History Collection (requires registration)

The Koran

  • University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
  • English translation by Shakir

Sunnah and Hadith (MSA, USC)

ALTAFSIR.COM

  • English translation of Tafsir al-Jalalayn and Tafsir Ibn 'Abbas

al-Mizan: an Exegesis of the holy Qur'an by Muhammad Husayn Tabatab'i

Digital Library of Arabic Heritage Books (al-Hakawati)

Women in Islamic Societies: a Selected Review of Social Scientific Literature

  • Report prepared November 2005 by Priscilla Offenhauer for the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress (.pdf)

Basic Reference Tools in Islamic Art and Architecture

  • Harvard Fine Arts Library
  • Call numbers refer to Fine Arts collection

 


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies