Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Judaism

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd ed (22 vols.)
   Main Ref  DS 102.8 E496 2007

    Encyclopedia of Judaism (5 vols.)
       Main Ref  BM 50 E63 1999

      Historical Dictionary of Judaism
         Main Ref  BM 50 S65 2006

        Mishnah (English, trans. Danby)
           Main Ref  BM497.5 .E4 1974

          New Encyclopedia of Judaism
             Main Ref  BM 50 E63 2002

              Tanakh (JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh)
                 Main Ref/Lib BS 895 J4 1999

                Online Reference Sources

                Otzar haHochma   UCSB Only

                • A database of approximately 75,000 (& growing) books which include Torah, Tannaitic & Talmudic literature, Halakhah, Philosophy, Kabbalah & Hasidism, as well as modern scholarship on Jewish history, Hebrew linguistics, etc.

                Oxford Reference Online  UCSB Only

                Wiley-Blackwell History of Jews and Judaism   UCSB Only

                Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions  UCSB Only

                ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

                • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

                Virtual Religion Index

                Primary Sources

                Adherents.com

                • A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Contains references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.

                All-in-one Biblical Resources Search

                • Engine which searches the full text of several versions (in several languages) of the Judeo-Christian Bible.

                The American Religion Data Archive

                • A database of quanitative data on American religions including churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups.

                EuroDocs

                • Primary History Documents from Western Europe.

                Historical Text Archive

                • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

                Internet Sacred Texts Archive


                Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
                UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
                Contact UsPolicies