Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Asian Traditions

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.

For More Information

Looking for more?

Try these guides:

Print Reference Sources

A to Z of Shinto
   Main Ref  BL 2216.1 P53 2006

    Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2 vols.)
       Main Ref  BQ 128 E62 2004

      Encyclopedia of Hinduism
         Main Ref  BL 1105. E53 2008

      Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism
         Main Ref  BL 1105. B75 2009

        Historical Dictionary of Taoism
           Main Ref  BL 1923 P37 1998

          Illustrated Encyclopedia of Hinduism (2 vols.)
             Main Ref  BL 1105 L63 2002

            Rider Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion
               Main Ref  BL 80.2 R494  1989

              Online Reference Sources

              Sera Monastery Project

              • The Sera Project is a research and pedagogical initiative employing state-of-the-art digital technology in the service of creating the most comprehensive, interactive, multimedia database of a Tibetan Buddhist monastery ever attempted.

              Religion Gateway

              • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

              Religious Studies Conferences Worldwide

              • Links to upcoming conferences.

              SARAI: South Asia Resource Access on the Internet

              • Columbia University's premiere South Asianist Internet gateway.

              South Asia Resources

              • This UC Berkeley library site links to various bibliographies and webliographies of interest to South Asianists.

              Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library

              Virtual Religion Index

              Oxford Reference Online
              Blackwell Companions Online

              Primary Sources

              Asian Classic Input Project

              Buddhist Digital Library and Museum Project

              • Online Sutras

              Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association

              Historical Text Archive

              • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

              Internet Sacred Texts Archive

              Sanskrit Manuscripts from the Cambridge Digital Library

              The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Library UCSB Only

              • Tibetan Texts
              • Cannot use Internet Explorer; use Firefox

              Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
              UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
              Contact UsPolicies