Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies: Native American Traditions

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.

For More Information

Looking for more?

Try the

Native American Studies Guides

Print Reference Sources

ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement
   EGSL Ref KF8203.36 B76 1996

American Indian Novelists
   EGSL Ref Z 1229 I52 C65 1985

Atlas of the North American Indian
   Ref E 77 W195 1985

Bibliography of the Constitutions and Laws of the American Indians…...
   Native American Studies Z 1209 H38 1976

Bibliography of Contemporary North American Indians
   Ref Z 1209.2 N67 H6

Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900
   EGSL Ref E89 W35 2001

Directory for Native American Tribal Libraries
   Native Am. Studies E97.8 P377

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World
   EGSL Ref E54.5 K46 2002

Encyclopedia of Native American Biography
   Ref E89 J69 1997

Encyclopedia of Native American Healing
   Ref E98 M4 L96 1996

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
   Ref E 98 R3 H73 2000

From Savage to Nobleman: Images of Native Americans on Film
   Ref PN1995.9 I48 H55 1995

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
   Ref E78 G73 W54 2001

Handbook of Ethical Research with Ethnocultural Populations and Communities.
   Main Ref GN 495.4 H36 2006

Handbook of North American Indians
   Main Ref E 77 H25

Index to Literature on the American Indian, 1970-1974
   Ref Z 1209 I53

Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
   EGSL Ref E98 W8 B38 2001

The Native American in American Literature
   EGSL Ref Z 1229 I52 R64 1985

Native Americans (American Political History Series)
   Ref E93 N32 2002

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
   Ref E 76.2 K58 1995

Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture
   Main Ref GN 475.8 S445 2004

Statistical Record of Native North Americans
   Ref E 98 P76 S73 1993

US Department of Interior: Biographical and Historical Index of American Indians
   Native Am. Studies Z 1209 U494I

Word Dance: The Language of Native American Culture
   Ref E 76.2 W36 1994

General Online Sources

Census Statistics from American Indian and Alaskan Native Populations

Early Encounters in North America UCSB Only

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

National NAGPRA Database

  • Archeological collections in U.S. museums have often contained human remains, unassociated funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony of Native American tribes.
  • The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act was enacted in 1990 to address the care and repatriation of many of these items. This database provides extensive information about the Act, the NAGPRA Review Committee, the notices of inventory completion and intent to repatriate, and much more.

Online Reference Sources

American Indian Resources Index

Arctic Circle Home Page

Center for World Indigenous Studies

Eastern Woodland Native Americans

Encyclopedia Mythica

  • An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

EthnicNews Watch UCSB Only

Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population

Cultural Groups: Native Americans

Native American Consultation Database

  • The Native American Consultation Database (NACD) provides an easy way to identify contacts for each of the 771 federally recognized Indian tribes, Alaska Native corporations, and Native Hawaiian organizations. You can search for contacts by name, tribe, reservation, state, country, and military installation.

History of the Cherokee

Humanities and Social Services On-Line (H-Net): American Indian Discussion Lists

Links to Native American Reference Sites (Phil Konstantin)

Mashantucket Pequot Museum

Oxford Reference Online  UCSB Only

National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian)

Native American Sites (Lisa Mitten)

Native American Arts, Culture, and Humanities (Tahtonka)

Native American Lore Index Page

Native American Nations

Native American Resources (CMMR)

Native Web

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online

Studies in American Indian Literature


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies