Find articles, citations, & reviews
Religious Studies databases
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new windowGeneral religious and theological literature, particularly Western religion
- Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Database lists a wide variety of periodical literature. Emphasis is mainly on Christianity and Judaism, but does include Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, (and other world religions) and new religious movements. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, and major European languages. Also indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
- RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowA selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowAlways the best place to start for topics related to IslamCovers widest amount of journals (and books since 1981)concerning the Middle EastIncludes materials in many languagesUse * to truncateClick on Peer-reviewed tab to get academic journalsUse Get it at UC to find the items
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowUS religion, religious movements and politics
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSometimes good for non-Western and/or native religious traditions
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowKey resources for Asian and East Asian studies
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDon't be misled by the name; this contains citation indexes for the arts, humanities & the social sciences
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowBibliography of articles on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowDigitized journals published in the arts, humanities & social sciences
Find articles, citations, & reviews
Need Articles? Try these print indexes - they may not be online, but they are still important:
Index to Jewish Periodicals
- PRINT ONLY, Reference Z6367 .I5
Index to Literature on the American Indian, 1970-1974
- PRINT ONLY, Reference Z 1209 I53
New Testament Abstracts
- PRINT ONLY, Reference B1 .N4935
Old Testament Abstracts
- PRINT ONLY, Reference BS410 .O42
Catholic Periodical & Literature Index (No longer published in this format)
- PRINT ONLY, Reference Z7837 .C3
Guide to Social Science and Religion (No longer published)
- PRINT ONLY, Reference Z7751 .G85
- Indexes journals from more conservative religious perspectives