Other Mental Health Resources
The Art of Forgiveness, Lovingkindness, and Peace
You hold in your hand an invitation: To remember the transforming power of forgiveness and lovingkindness. To remember that no matter where you are and what you face, within your heart peace is possible. In this beautiful and graceful little book, internationally renowned Buddhist teacher and meditation master Jack Kornfield has collected age-old teachings, modern stories, and time-honored practices for bringing healing, peace, and compassion into our daily lives. Just to read these pages offers calm and comfort. The practices contained here offer meditations for you to discover a new way to meet life's greatest challenges with acceptance, joy, and hope.
Call Number: BJ1476 .K67 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Bipolar Depression: Molecular Neurobiology, Clinical Diagnosis and Pharmacotherapy
Although our knowledge of mood disorders is expanding, comparatively little is known about bipolar depression in particular. This book offers the most up-to-date information about the diagnosis, treatment, and research surrounding bipolar depression. Early chapters provide diagnostic information and review the course, outcome and genetics of this heritable condition. The book gives a thorough and unique overview of the neurobiology of the disorder, including neuroimaging work. Several chapters delineate the treatment of bipolar depression in special populations such as children and pregnant women. Furthermore, the particular issues of suicide, focusing on the need for assessment during both acute and maintenance treatment, are addressed. Finally, acute and long-term treatment strategies for bipolar depression are discussed, including both traditional and novel therapeutics, as well as non-pharmacological treatments. This volume offers researchers and clinicians key insights into this devastating disorder.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Blowing Up: The Psychology of Conflict
This is a powerful resource for anyone who wants to understand the nature of interpersonal conflict--to study it, understand why it's a consistent part of human history, and perhaps avert it in their own lives. Why does conflict surround us in everyday life, from spats between individuals to major conflicts involving large groups? Is conflict inevitable? Why are conflicts and differences of opinion often so hard to resolve? Blowing Up: The Psychology of Conflict focuses on interpersonal conflict and the ways that this level of conflict can move beyond the original relationship to permeate larger constructs--small groups, large groups, whole organizations, and even entire nations. By examining both the positive and negative consequences of conflict--and by documenting its existence as normal and common--readers can appreciate how conflict does not immediately equate to negative feelings and how it also can be useful in creating rules and laws, aiding in negotiation, and bringing people together to work toward a common goal. This clear and accessibly written book in Greenwood's Psychology of Everyday Life series provides students with an understanding of the important role conflict plays in our lives, the many forms conflict may take, and the ways that conflict can actually be constructive and useful as well as destructive to relationships, discussions, and groups. The historical overview of established theories and the study of conflict to date provides readers with invaluable perspective into the subject by identifying and analyzing specific conflicts, including well-publicized conflicts in foreign countries. The book also charts conflict throughout the life cycle to help students identify the reasons for conflicts that occur in their own lives--with parents, friends, siblings, employers, romantic partners, and people in authority. Presents a fascinating investigation into the many forms of conflict and the ways these have an impact on everyday life Establishes the importance of conflict in our lives, as well as the surprising concept that conflict can be constructive and useful rather than simply destructive Provides an overview of the key theories and a historical study of conflict, including landmark research like the Robbers Cave experiment, social identity theory, and psychodynamic theory Explores conflict throughout the life cycle with scenarios that readers will find familiar and which will resonate on a personal level Provides a global perspective to underscore the nature of conflict and its existence in virtually every society in the world--a timely topic in an era of unprecedented divisiveness
Call Number: BF637.I48 M565 2017 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Campus Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook
This invaluable reference text thoroughly examines the alarming epidemic of campus sexual assault, including a discussion of laws, high-profile cases, controversies, and proposed solutions. From the assault of a high school girl by a multitude of her peers in Steubenville, Ohio, to the alleged gang rape at the University of Virginia, the ongoing and serious problem of sexual violence at U.S. educational institutions is well established. These horrific attacks continue in spite of the Title IX probe launched by the Obama administration in order to hold schools more accountable. Campus Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook addresses the difficult questions about the widespread incidence of sexual assault among high school and college students. Written to be highly accessible to high school and undergraduate students, general readers, as well as individuals interested in the campus rape discourse, the book covers the background history of sexual assault on college campuses, discusses how laws regarding sexual assault and the cultural understanding of the crime have evolved over time, and outlines some of the highest-profile cases of sexual assault at U.S. schools. A perspectives chapter presents testimonials from those who by profession or experience have insight into the problem of sexual assault, giving voice to a Title IX investigator, a college counselor, a sexual assault nurse, and individuals who have been sexually assaulted. Readers will come away with a deeper appreciation of the gravity of the problem of campus sexual assault and grasp the causes of this societal issue to intelligently consider proposed solutions. Provides coverage of a timely topic that helps contextualize the issue by providing historical background and contemporary analysis of key events, laws, people, and controversies Presents perspectives from individuals with firsthand experience with the issue of campus sexual assault, including a Title IX investigator, a college counselor, a sexual assault nurse, as well as community advocates and survivors Explores strategies and changes that could serve to prevent assaults from occurring
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Chronic Pain: A Primary Care Guide to Practical Management
Patients with chronic pain present a unique set of challenges to the primary care clinician. In Chronic Pain: A Primary Care Guide to Practical Management, Second Edition, leading pain specialist Dawn A. Marcus, MD, again offers practical, clear, and succinct evidence-based approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of the myriad painful conditions clinicians see in their offices every day, such as headache, back pain, arthritis, fibromyalgia, and abdominal pain. Sections addressing pain management in children, pregnant women, and seniors are also included. This new edition is designed to provide a pragmatic approach to assessing and treating the complex issues and characteristics of chronic pain patients. New chapters expand upon the evidence-based recommendations and practical office tools previously provided, with the addition of new chapters addressing risk management; pain syndromes in the shoulder, upper extremity, and lower extremity; and cancer and end-of-life pain. Chronic Pain: A Primary Care Guide to Practical Management, Second Edition provides strategies and techniques that are designed to improve the confidence with which the primary care physician can approach patients with complex pain complaints, reduce staff stress, and improve patient success.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Clearing the Fog: From Surviving to Thriving with Long COVID - A Practical Guide
"An essential guide" (Mark Hyman, author of Young Forever) to navigating life with the cognitive and mental health impairments that often accompany Long Covid. Early in the Covid-19 pandemic, the shocking mortality figures obscured the fact that death is not the only adverse outcome of the virus. Today, as many as 30 percent of Covid-19 survivors still experience symptoms long after their acute illness has passed, with cognitive and mental health problems especially prominent. For long haulers, this struggle with Long Covid has irrevocably changed their lives. Many have lost their ability to work, attend school, and look after their children. They often feel misunderstood and dismissed by others. Their once-full lives are now filled only with doctors' appointments that seem more and more futile. In Clearing the Fog, neuropsychologist Dr. James C. Jackson offers people suffering from Long Covid and their families a roadmap to help them manage their "new normal." Focusing on cognitive impairment and mental health issues, he shows readers: The ways in which they can manifest and disrupt Suggestions for how and when to seek professional evaluations Science-based treatment options and strategies, Information on navigating health care systems and disability insurance Validation and hope as patients wrestle with their new diagnosis In addition, Dr. Jackson shares his own experience with chronic illness, relating to long haulers with vulnerability and compassion. Through moving stories as well as hands-on guidance, Clearing the Fog will help long haulers understand their current situation while offering multiple ways to address it, make sense of it, and move through it with the goal of thriving instead of merely surviving.
Call Number: RA644.C67 J33 2023 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces that Stand in the way of True InspirationCall Number: HD53 .C38 2014 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Depression Sourcebook
Depression sourcebook : basic consumer health information about the prevalence, symptoms, diagnosis, causes, treatment, and types of depression, including major depression, atypical depression, bipolar disorder, depression during and after pregnancy, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, and seasonal affective disorder, as well as the impact of depression and strategies for managing depression ; along with facts about depression and chronic illness, treatment-resistant depression and suicide, mental-health medications, therapies, and treatments, tips for improving self-esteem, resilience, and quality of life while living with depression, a glossary of related terms, and resources for additional help and information
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed: How to Manage Food, Booze, Stress, Sex, Sleep, and Exercise on Campus
The coach's guide to beating the Freshman Fifteen, Sophomore Slump, crippling anxiety, and your worst hangover! Learn to take care of yourself, and de-stress throughout your undergrad years and beyond. Every fall, millions of young adults crash into college fired up for the best four years of their lives, ready to experience campus life, take classes about things they're interested in, and meet people from all over the world. Most students, however, are better prepared to pick their major or talk to strangers than they are to take care of themselves in the college setting. College students today are more depressed, anxious, and stressed than previous waves of students; they're also more sedentary, not really exercising, and living in a meal-plan limbo supplemented with ramen and coffee. In this comprehensive field guild, high school coaches Jill and Dave Henry break down the facts and deliver doable, no-BS strategies for managing physical and mental health on campus. In addition to helpful, interactive graphics, the coaches share their relatable true stories--ranging from the ridiculous to the serious--to discuss the five biggest health obstacles students face in college. On top of research-backed tips, The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed also features raw and personal advice from current students on college campuses across the country. While simply figuring out what to eat and how to exercise can be completely overwhelming, this guide goes beyond a basic crash course on how to be healthy. Jill and Dave cover everything from crucial time-management skills to the complex sensitivity of self-doubt, sexual assault, and depression with humor, humility, and heart. The Greatest College Health Guide You Never Knew You Needed is a complete road map for how to take care of your mind and body that will not only set students up to crush the next four years, but will also provide a foundation they can carry with them for the rest of their lives.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Homelessness and Housing Insecurity in Higher Education
Both colleges and policymakers recognize the importance of supporting students experiencing homelessness in higher education. The challenges involve both addressing issues of college access as well as developing strategies to support retention and degree completion once enrolled. This volume explores how homelessness intersects most social issues that marginalize individuals and negatively influence postsecondary completion, including poverty, foster care, and LGBTQ+ discrimination. As becomes evident, students experiencing homelessness should be considered in conversations about equity and access. For these students, completing some form of degree or certification beyond high school is a vital step in achieving future stability. Topics covered include: how residential experiences influence educational engagement and retention an overview of research related to housing insecurity in higher education federal and state policies related to homelessness in higher education a trauma-informed care approach to this issue an approach to understanding and studying housing insecurity among students ideas that will be necessary for policy and program development.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Latina/o American Health and Mental Health: Practices and Challenges
Essential reading for health and mental health administrators, community agencies, and policy makers as well as students and general interest readers, this book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups. While Latina/o Americans originate from more than 25 countries, most health or mental health texts largely focus on Mexican Americans and often fail to address other Latina/o groups, such as South Americans, Central Americans, Puerto Ricans, and others. Moreover, most works address either health or mental health, but not both together. In contrast, Latina/o American Health and Mental Health addresses both the health and mental health of diverse Latina/o heritage groups. An interdisciplinary approach enables readers to identify both similar and divergent areas that affect the health and mental health of Latina/o Americans. Strengths-based and social justice perspectives, rather than a deficit perspective, guide the work in its assessment of disparities among treatment for different groups. This text is ideal for graduate students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers in public health, community health, family studies, psychology, counseling, social work, and Latina/o studies who are interested in understanding Latina/o health and mental health in the United States and providing culturally responsive services. Examines the prevalence of psychological disorders and chronic physical diseases among various Latina/o groups in the U.S. Reviews culture-specific treatments and community efforts to improve mental health Discusses spiritual and indigenous practices such as Curanderismo, Santeria, and Espiritismo and their applications to health and mental health Provides recommendations for eliminating barriers to health and mental health care for individuals belonging to Latina/o groups
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Mental Health of Refugees and Asylum SeekersCall Number: RC451.4.R43 M458 2010 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
On the Brink of Everything: Grace, Gravity, and Getting Old
"This impassioned book invites readers to the deep end of life where authentic soul work and human transformation become pressing concerns." --Publishers Weekly2019 Independent Publisher Book Awards Gold Medalist in the Aging/Death & Dying CategoryFrom bestselling author Parker J. Palmer comes a brave and beautiful book for all who want to age reflectively, seeking new insights and life-giving ways to engage in the world. "Age itself," he says, "is no excuse to wade in the shallows. It's a reason to dive deep and take creative risks."Looking back on eight decades of life--and on his work as a writer, teacher, and activist--Palmer explores what he's learning about self and world, inviting readers to explore their own experience. In prose and poetry--and three downloadable songs written for the book by the gifted Carrie Newcomer--he meditates on the meanings of life, past, present, and future. With compassion and chutzpah, gravitas and levity, Palmer writes about cultivating a vital inner and outer life, finding meaning in suffering and joy, and forming friendships across the generations that bring new life to young and old alike."This book is a companion for not merely surviving a fractured world, but embodying--like Parker--the fiercely honest and gracious wholeness that is ours to claim at every stage of life." --Krista Tippett, New York Times-bestselling author of Becoming Wise"A wondrously rich mix of reality and possibility, comfort and story, helpful counsel and poetry, in the voice of a friend . . . This is a book of immense gratitude, consolation, and praise." --Naomi Shihab Nye, National Book Award finalist
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Psychiatry of Pandemics: A Mental Health Response to Infection OutbreakCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Pursuing a Career in Mental Health: A Comprehensive Guide for Aspiring ProfessionalsCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Self-Injury: Your Questions Answered
This book provides an introduction to the topic of self-injury as it relates to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources offered make it a valuable tool for anyone whose life has been impacted by self-injury. Regardless of the form it takes, self-injury can leave lasting physical and emotional scars on both those who harm themselves and their friends and family. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Self-Injury: Your Questions Answered provides clear, concise information for readers interested in or struggling with this often-misunderstood subject. It explores the causes and consequences of self-injury, treatment options that make use of therapy and medication, and the role that popular culture and the media have in shaping our understanding of these behaviors. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Social Exclusion: Short and Long Term Causes and Consequences
The book provides a panoramic approach to social exclusion, with emphasis on structural causes (education, health, accidents) and on short term causes connected with the crisis which started in 2008. The picture emerging, based on econometric analysis, is that the crisis has widened the risk of social exclusion, from the structural groups, like disabled people and formerly convicted people, to other groups, like the young, unemployed, low skilled workers and immigrants, in terms of income, poverty, health, unemployment, transition between occupational statuses, participation, leading to a widening of socio-economic duality. It has also been stressed the relevance of definitions of socio-economic outcomes for the evaluation of the crisis, and their consequences to define interventions to fight socio-economic effects of the economic downturn. The adequacy of welfare policies to cope with social exclusion, especially during a crisis, has been called into question.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Social Isolation, Participation and Impact on Mental Health
Classic and contemporary theories, based on evolutionary, social, and developmental perspectives, argue that humans are motivated from the very earliest days of life to seek, establish and maintain social interactions and close relationships with others. For any species with a social nature, isolation from other con-specific members is an environmental deprivation of a basic need. This book examines participation in society and the impact social isolation has on mental health.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Suicide and Mental Health
Delving into a topic of perennial interest and concern, particularly among teenagers, this important volume addresses the full range of issues related to suicide and suggests ways to help those who struggle. While the risk of suicide is increasing across age groups, the good news is that with timely intervention, most suicides are preventable. Written primarily for high school and college students as well as for their teachers and parents, this guide combines relevant research and theories about suicide with current clinical thinking and approaches to diagnosis and treatment. Going beyond the clinical, the volume also explores suicide in history and in popular culture and examines relevant cultural, religious, moral, and ethical viewpoints. It looks at suicide among various demographic groups, probes psychological motivations and methods used, and discusses the controversy surrounding a person's right to die. What differentiates this work from others is that it covers the breadth of the subject but also considers issues in enough depth to make their importance and complexity clear. Readers will better understand the problem of suicide, its impact, and the approaches that can be used to prevent suicide and deal more effectively with at-risk individuals. Examines the topic from a variety of perspectives and provides insights into current issues and controversies, such as doctor-assisted suicide Discusses suicide among a variety of age groups and social classes, not just teenagers and college students Draws on the author's 40 years of clinical and academic experience as well as on the most up-to-date scholarly and professional literature Serves as a gateway to other resources and further study
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Suicide Information for Teens: Health Tips About Suicide Causes and Prevention
Provides consumer health information for teens on suicide risk factors, prevention, treatment of depression, and related psychological conditions common in adolescents. Includes index, resource information and recommendations for further reading.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Touched with Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament (Open Access Book)
The anguished, volatile intensity we associate with the artistic temperament has often been thought to have much in common with the experience of manic-depressive illness, both characterized by despairing low and exalting highs.
Call Number: RC516 .J36 1993 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1993
What My Bones Know: A Memoir of Healing from Complex Trauma
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A searing memoir of reckoning and healing by acclaimed journalist Stephanie Foo, investigating the little-understood science behind complex PTSD and how it has shaped her life "Achingly exquisite . . . providing real hope for those who long to heal."--Lori Gottlieb, New York Times bestselling author of Maybe You Should Talk to Someone ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post, Cosmopolitan, NPR, Mashable, She Reads, Publishers Weekly By age thirty, Stephanie Foo was successful on paper: She had her dream job as an award-winning radio producer at This American Life and a loving boyfriend. But behind her office door, she was having panic attacks and sobbing at her desk every morning. After years of questioning what was wrong with herself, she was diagnosed with complex PTSD--a condition that occurs when trauma happens continuously, over the course of years. Both of Foo's parents abandoned her when she was a teenager, after years of physical and verbal abuse and neglect. She thought she'd moved on, but her new diagnosis illuminated the way her past continued to threaten her health, relationships, and career. She found limited resources to help her, so Foo set out to heal herself, and to map her experiences onto the scarce literature about C-PTSD. In this deeply personal and thoroughly researched account, Foo interviews scientists and psychologists and tries a variety of innovative therapies. She returns to her hometown of San Jose, California, to investigate the effects of immigrant trauma on the community, and she uncovers family secrets in the country of her birth, Malaysia, to learn how trauma can be inherited through generations. Ultimately, she discovers that you don't move on from trauma--but you can learn to move with it. Powerful, enlightening, and hopeful, What My Bones Know is a brave narrative that reckons with the hold of the past over the present, the mind over the body--and examines one woman's ability to reclaim agency from her trauma.
Call Number: Asian American Studies RC552.P67 F66 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Adult Survivors of Toxic Family Members
Cutting ties with a toxic family member is a crucial step away from a legacy of dysfunction and toward healing and happiness. This compassionate guide will help you embrace your decision with a sense of pride, validation, and faith in yourself; and provides powerful tools for creating boundaries, coping with judgment, and overcoming self-doubt. Do you have a toxic family member? Do you feel like cutting ties with this person--even as painful and scary as that may sound--would dramatically increase your well-being and improve your life? You're not alone. Severing ties with a family member can be devastating; and cutting this toxic person out of your life may bring up feelings of guilt and uncertainty--especially if you feel judged by others regarding your decision. Fortunately, you can free yourself from this toxic family member in a healthy, responsible, and liberating way. In Adult Survivors of Toxic Family Members, psychologist and toxic-family survivor Sherrie Campbell offers effective strategies for setting strong boundaries after ending contact with a toxic family member, and provides powerful tools to help you heal from shame, self-doubt, and stigma. You'll find the validation you need to embrace your decision with pride and acknowledgement of your self-worth. You'll learn how to let go of negative thoughts and feelings. And finally, you'll develop the skills needed to rediscover self-care, self-love, self-reliance, and healthy loving relationships. Whether you're ready to sever ties with a toxic family member, or already have, this book will help guide you, every step of the way.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Hidden Valley Road: Inside the Mind of an American Family
The heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia, that became science's great hope in the quest to understand the disease. Don and Mimi Galvin seemed to be living the American dream. After World War II, Don's work with the Air Force brought them to Colorado, where their twelve children perfectly spanned the baby boom: the oldest born in 1945, the youngest in 1965. In those years, there was an established script for a family like the Galvins--aspiration, hard work, upward mobility, domestic harmony--and they worked hard to play their parts. But behind the scenes was a different story: psychological breakdown, sudden shocking violence, hidden abuse. By the mid-1970s, six of the ten Galvin boys, one after another, were diagnosed as schizophrenic. How could all this happen to one family? What took place inside the house on Hidden Valley Road was so extraordinary that the Galvins became one of the first families to be studied by the National Institute of Mental Health. Their story offers a shadow history of the science of schizophrenia, from the era of institutionalization, lobotomy, and the schizophrenogenic mother to the search for genetic markers for the disease, always amid profound disagreements about the nature of the illness itself. And unbeknownst to the Galvins, samples of their DNA informed decades of genetic research that continues today, offering paths to treatment, prediction, and even eradication of the disease for future generations. With clarity and compassion, bestselling and award-winning author Robert Kolker uncovers one family's unforgettable legacy of suffering, love, and hope.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Growing in to Autism
From the outside looking in, Sandra Thom-Jones was living a successful life- she had a great career, a beautiful home, a caring husband, two loving sons and supportive friends. But from the inside looking out, she was struggling to make sense of her place in the world, constantly feeling overwhelmed and exhausted, and convinced that her challenges with daily life just meant that she had to try harder. In Growing In to Autism, Thom-Jones tells the story of gradually realizing that she was autistic, and that she experienced the world in ways which were markedly different from neurotypical people. This was a profound awakening - throughout her life she had been masking her true self and this effort had come at great physical, mental and emotional cost. Applying her skills as an experienced and expert researcher, Thom-Jones delved into the literature on autism in adults, learning much more than she already knew as a parent of two autistic boys. Part personal, funny, endearing and enlightening memoir, and part rigorous explication of the nature of autism, Growing in to Autism is a book for all people, memorably conveying the need for better understanding and ways of making space for a group of individuals in our society who have so much to offer.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Neurodiverse Relationships
Comprised of the accounts of twelve heterosexual couples in which the man is on the Autism Spectrum, this book invites both partners to discuss their own perspectives of different key issues, including anxiety, empathy, employment and socialising. Autism expert Tony Attwood contributes a commentary and a question and answer section for each of the twelve accounts. The first book of its kind to provide perspectives from both sides of a relationship on a variety of different topics, Neurodiverse Relationships is the perfect companion for couples in neurodiverse relationships who are trying to understand one another better.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder
Complete yet concise, Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder provides an up-to-date analysis of this widespread, multi-faceted disorder. Estimated to be twice as common as any other personality disorder, OCPD is nevertheless both underrepresented in the literature and frequently misunderstood by clinicians and the patients who grapple with its effects. Misdiagnosis, failure to diagnose, and ignorance of treatment options are common. This text represents the collective contributions of some of the foremost authorities in the field under the leadership of editors who are determined to raise awareness and educate practitioners and patients alike about the phenomenology, neurobiology, and psychology of this disorder. The book begins with the history and epidemiology of the disorder before proceeding to the clinical features, which are presented using case examples. From there, the text addresses the developmental aspects of OCPD and then considers other related personality disorders that frequently co-occur with or may be mistaken for OCPD. Additional chapters address the developmental aspects of OCPD, the neurobiology and cognitive underpinnings of OCPD, and available treatment approaches. The following coverage is especially noteworthy: * Four chapters focus on common mental health disorders that can be difficult to differentiate from OCPD, with the most common misdiagnoses being obsessive-compulsive disorder and hoarding disorder. OCPD has also been linked with eating disorders, impulse disorders, and aggression, and the book helps the reader understand the relationship between and among these disorders.* Gender and/or cultural factors may influence the presentation of psychiatric disorders, including OCPD, and the book explores the potentially heterogeneous etiology of the disorder and the danger of assuming that one size fits all in terms of treatment.* Both psychotherapeutic and pharmacological treatment approaches are examined in detail, including cognitive-behavioral therapies (the rationale behind their use, estimated effectiveness, and limitations of current interventions) and the current state of drug treatment.* OCPD can be trying for family members and others who care about the patient, and the book offers a chapter examining what loved ones can do to help, including how to recognize when a personality trait within the OCPD criteria rises to the level of a disorder.* Although OCPD can be disabling, there can be positive aspects to having an obsessional personality, and the book discusses the situations under which these traits can be advantageous. Down-to-earth, clinically rich, and unique, Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder will help clinicians navigate the thorny OCPD assessment, diagnosis, and treatment path while providing information and comfort to patients and their families.
Call Number: RC533 .O27 2020 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Taking Charge of Adult ADHD: Proven Strategies to Succeed at Work, At Home, and in Relationships
If you're among the millions of adults with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), you need the latest facts about the disorder and its treatment. You need practical strategies to help develop your strengths and achieve your goals, whether on the job, in family relationships, or in personal pursuits. From renowned ADHD researcher/clinician Russell A. Barkley, this is the book for you. Dr. Barkley takes you through the process of seeking professional help, addresses frequently asked questions about medications and other treatments, and offers a wealth of advice and tips--all science-based. Featuring the latest resources and medication facts, the revised and updated second edition includes new or expanded discussions of mindfulness, emotional self-control, time management, building a successful career, maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and more. Finally, an authoritative one-stop resource to help you take back your life from ADHD.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Anxiety and Panic Attacks: Your Questions Answered
A new title in the Q&A Health Guides series, this book tackles readers' questions regarding anxiety and panic attacks, dispelling misconceptions and examining real-world scenarios that highlight important concepts and controversies.How is social anxiety different from shyness or introversion? Are anxiety disorders only a problem in the Western, industrialized world, and if not, are they expressed differently in other cultures? Why do some people suffer from panic attacks while others do not? What kinds of therapy and medication are available for anxiety? What happens in therapy? How can well-meaning family and friends help a person with an anxiety disorder rather than make things worse? Anxiety and Panic Attacks: Your Questions Answered addresses all of these topics and much more, presenting information in a question-and-answer format that makes finding the desired information easy. The book begins with a "Guide to Health Literacy" section that explains what health literacy is and provides readers with tools to improve their health literacy, and then examines five myths and misconceptions about anxiety and supplies five case studies that provide real-world context and reinforce the concepts discussed in the book. All of the Greenwood Q&A Health Guides series books are specifically designed to provide readers with authoritative yet accessible answers to their questions in a concise, targeted resource that they can trust to be medically accurate.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Behavioral Neurobiology of Anxiety and Its Treatment
The book is part of a series on Current Topics in Behavioral Neurosciences, which has as its focus anxiety and its treatment. We have brought together a distinguished cadre of authors with the aim of covering a broad array of topics related to anxiety disorders, ranging from clinical diagnosis, epidemiology, preclinical neuroscience, and animal models to established and innovative therapeutic approaches. The book aims at bridging these disciplines to provide an update of literature relevant to understanding anxiety, its consequences, and its management. Following is a brief overview of the chapters and their content, meant to serve as a guide to navigating the book. The ?rst section covers clinical aspects of anxiety disorders. Joe Bienvenu and colleagues provide an incisive overview of diagnostic considerations in the anxiety disorders in which they emphasize the strengths and shortcomings of our current nosologic systems. This is followed by a review and update of the epidemiology of anxiety disorders by Ron Kessler and colleagues, which provides an authoritative survey of anxiety disorder incidence, prevalence, and risk factors. This is comp- mented by a comprehensive review of the literature on disorders that co-occur with anxiety disorders by Kathleen Merikangas and Sonja Alsemgeest Swanson. Their review highlights the tremendous comorbidity that occurs not only within the anxiety disorders, but also with other mental and physical health conditions.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Big Anxiety: Taking Care of Mental Health in Times of Crisis
"This book takes a creative approach in examining of the biggest crises of our time: that of mental suffering, distress and anxiety. By bringing together essays and dialogues from thinkers and artists across a range of disciplines, it re-imagines approaches to crisis, support, and care. Amid growing recognition that mental health is not only the province of psychiatry and the health sector, but a concern for the whole community, the book opens up critical new ways of thinking about our internal lives and the forces that affect them. The book significantly advances the way we think about cultural responses to mental health and the understanding of the struggles of inner life. Featuring both theoretical and practical examples of the value of using imagination in response to trauma, anxiety, and depression, The Big Anxiety shows how creativity is not a luxury, but a means of survival"
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Enchantment: Awakening Wonder in an Anxious Age
#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER "When I tell you that I dogeared almost every page in this book, I'm telling God's honest truth. I didn't know how much I needed someone else to validate what I was going through. The sense that I had lost my curiosity, my imagination, my ability to make meaning." - NPR Morning Edition host Rachel Martin "Such a teacher for every single person who is trying to live closer to who they were born to be and not who the world tamed them to be." - New York Times bestselling author Glennon Doyle on We Can Do Hard Things "I love Katherine May's new book, Enchantment....It's a beautiful offering of light, truth and charm in these strange, dark times." - New York Times bestselling author Anne Lamott "Katherine May gave so many of us language and vision for the long communal 'wintering' of the last years. Welcome this beautiful meditation for the time we've now entered. I cannot imagine a more gracious companion. This book is a gift." - New York Times bestselling author Krista Tippett "Gentle inspiration for those who feel exhausted or helpless... May shows how paying deliberate attention to what's around us can surprise us with insights and reveal new connections that deepen our appreciation for the world." - Washington Post From the New York Times-bestselling author of Wintering, an invitation to rediscover the feelings of awe and wonder available to us all Many of us feel trapped in a grind of constant change: rolling news cycles, the chatter of social media, our families split along partisan lines. We feel fearful and tired, on edge in our bodies, not quite knowing what has us perpetually depleted. For Katherine May, this low hum of fatigue and anxiety made her wonder what she was missing. Could there be a different way to relate to the world, one that would allow her to feel more rested and at ease, even as seismic changes unfold on the planet? Might there be a way for all of us to move through life with curiosity and tenderness, sensitized to the subtle magic all around? In Enchantment, May invites the reader to come with her on a journey to reawaken our innate sense of wonder and awe. With humor, candor, and warmth, she shares stories of her own struggles with work, family, and the aftereffects of pandemic, particularly feelings of overwhelm as the world rushes to reopen. Craving a different way to live, May begins to explore the restorative properties of the natural world, moving through the elements of earth, water, fire, and air and identifying the quiet traces of magic that can be found only when we look for them. Through deliberate attention and ritual, she unearths the potency and nourishment that come from quiet reconnection with our immediate environment. Blending lyricism and storytelling, sensitivity and empathy, Enchantment invites each of us to open the door to human experience in all its sensual complexity, and to find the beauty waiting for us there.
Call Number: BF637.S4 M2297 2023 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Take Control of Your Anxiety: A Drug-free Approach to Living a Happy, Healthy Life
Do you know what really triggers panic attacks? Are you aware of what thinking patterns create anxiety? Are you a chronic worrier? Have you ever self-medicated with alcohol or tranquilizers? According to mental health professionals, anxiety disorders have emerged as the common cold of mental illness. Every family is touched in some way or another by anxiety issues and, with ever-increasing frequency, diagnosable anxiety disorders. In Take Control of Your Anxiety--an easy-to-read, self-help book for the layperson--Drs. Cortman, Shinitzky, and O'Connor present the current understanding of anxiety: its genesis in the brain, its functions and contributions to human survival and growth, and its progression to pathology. Each of the five major anxiety disorders is featured in a chapter that explores its etiology, practical steps and exercises for successful resolution, and real-life case studies of patients who have overcome the disorder. The authors use some levity to teach their concepts, including Dr. Seuss-like poems, popular music parodies, and other easy-to-remember aids. A tool box of simple resources and self-help techniques is also included. Most importantly, the authors emphasize a non-pharmaceutical, evidence-based approach to mastering anxiety issues and living a productive, well-balanced life.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781601634047Publication Date: 2015-01-19
Grief: A Philosophical Guide
An engaging and illuminating exploration of grief--and why, despite its intense pain, it can also help us grow Experiencing grief at the death of a person we love or who matters to us--as universal as it is painful--is central to the human condition. Surprisingly, however, philosophers have rarely examined grief in any depth. In Grief, Michael Cholbi presents a groundbreaking philosophical exploration of this complex emotional event, offering valuable new insights about what grief is, whom we grieve, and how grief can ultimately lead us to a richer self-understanding and a fuller realization of our humanity. Drawing on psychology, social science, and literature as well as philosophy, Cholbi explains that we grieve for the loss of those in whom our identities are invested, including people we don't know personally but cherish anyway, such as public figures. Their deaths not only deprive us of worthwhile experiences; they also disrupt our commitments and values. Yet grief is something we should embrace rather than avoid, an important part of a good and meaningful life. The key to understanding this paradox, Cholbi says, is that grief offers us a unique and powerful opportunity to grow in self-knowledge by fashioning a new identity. Although grief can be tumultuous and disorienting, it also reflects our distinctly human capacity to rationally adapt as the relationships we depend on evolve. An original account of how grieving works and why it is so important, Grief shows how the pain of this experience gives us a chance to deepen our relationships with others and ourselves.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Humanity Is Trying: Experiments in Living with Grief, Finding Connection, and Resisting Easy Answers
My sister and I are driving south toward Graceland in her beat-up red Saturn, both in need of refuge, both running from different things. Her bumper sticker reads "Humanity Is Trying." It's a triple entendre, she explains: Humanity is exhausting. Humanity is struggle. Humanity is doing the best it knows how. Humanity Is Trying is several books in one. It's a memoir about the love and the loss of a sister and a best friend. It's the story of a series of escape attempts--cowardly, courageous, harmful, and hopeful--experiments in freedom from the stories that limit us. And it's a record of spiritual, intellectual, and emotional growth with the help of friends, psychedelics, art, and spiritual practice. From Jason Gots, creator of the podcasts Think Again and Clever Creature, comes a philosophical love letter to the slow, messy work of building a life and living with your dreams in the face of reality.
Call Number: PS3607.O865 Z46 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
